Canon i550

embguy

Printer Guru
Reaction score
I have a Canon i550 printer since 2003. I refilled my cartridges since day 1. It has serve me well until a year ago. I set my PC to print in draft as default. Sometime, I manually set it to print "standard" or "high" quality. The print is perfect in draft quality. But there is random black smear mark when I print in "standard" or "high" quality. There is no color smear mark. I think the smear is due to more ink coming out of the print head in "standard" or "high" quality mode.

I am new to printer maintenance. Your help will be appreciated.
1. How I go about to take the print head off the printer to clean it?
2. What precaution that I should take in cleaning the print head?
3. Is there any chance that the smear is due to the refill ink?

My waste ink tank is 73.8% fill according to service mode printout. I usually do not run the head cleaning. I noticed that my printer is cleaning the print head when it wakes up from sleep mode. Does the ink evaporation keep the waste ink tank dry?

Manuchau

Printer Guru
Reaction score
Welcome to this forum...you will find knowledgeable people here willing to help. I'll start the ball rolling. To remove your printhead, just lift up the top of the printer, as if you were going to replace a cartridge. When the printhead moves to the middle and stops, take a close look at it.
You will see a lever on the right side, just above the printhead. Remove the cartridges, then lift the lever, and you should be able to lift out the printhead. Flip it upside down, and take a look at it carefully. Most likely it could use a gentle cleaning.

Is your refilled BCI-3 old..has it been refilled many times? Have you overfilled it, which can cause problems.
I have to leave for work at the moment, so I'll let others continue to help you. Do not be afraid to get into printer maintenance. You have a very good printer, and it is worth it learning some printer maintenance to keep it alive. Good luck!!

embguy