Are the new 'chips' actionable as anti-competitive?

speedmonk

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
You know, I am totally new to all this as the below post indicates. However, I find the chips blocking refills totally aggregious.

I can see, and it being perfectly reasonalbe to void a warranty while attaching some frankenstien CIS sytem to your printer.

However, could blocking the refills be considered actionable under anti-competitive laws? Since we know the prices are grossly overpriced perhaps this constitutes an unfair practice against the consumer.

Void the warranty, ok, but give the user the freedom to do so.

Class action lawsuit anyone? Or has this been already done.....

fotofreek

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
The chipped carts are "sold" to the public as an improved ink monitoring system that also verifies that the carts are inserted properly. You also get the equally unnecessary clever little glowing lights under the hood.

speedmonk

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Ok, but the overall point is that it is sold to specifically lock the customer into an unreasonable and unecessary price fixed commodity.

Would we accept the car companies (ok this is a bad analogy cause it's almost true) saying we could only use Shell gas in Toyotas at 100 times the price?

fotofreek

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Unlike the Epsons with chipped carts, the Canons will still print when the chip reads empty (even when refilled.) It just gives you annoying messages. Might even keep a message in its internal memory to let Canon know that you kept printing after the chip/cart read empty. Too new to know what will actually happen if a refiller's printhead head gets fried within the warranty period.

Osage

Printer Guru
Reaction score