A Printer for Large Amounts of Cardstock (163 - 199 g/m2)

MO Printer

Printing Apprentice
Reaction score
Printer Model
Konica Minolta PagePro 4650EN
Hello All,

I'm a newbie to this site but have had a printing business for the last 4 years where I only print onto Cardstock (Exact Index and Digital Cover) and cut it to create 4 index cards per sheet. I'm in the market for a new Printer to replace my existing Konica Minolta PagePro 4650EN which has been a workhorse for me printing over 200,000 sheets in the last few years. Alas Konica Minolta has discontinued this printer making it very difficult (and expensive) to find a new one along with finding a reliable (refurbished) Toner provider.

I only print onto cardstock (163-199 g/m2) doing Black and White only, and do not need any other functions (No Copying, No Scanning).
I have considered leasing a large commercial printer but am lacking to space to store and run it out of my small home office so I'd like to find a printer that I can use at home (if there is one).

Ideally these are the requirements I have:

1. Must be able to print onto Cardstock (163-199 grams per meter squared) in Black and White only.
2. Can load up 300-500 sheets of Cardstock into printer (not using Multipurpose loader)
3. Straight Paper Path (to avoid curling)
4. Has an output tray to hold at least 250 sheets
5. Costs Under $6000
6. General Annual Yield of 250,000 Sheets

If anyone has any opinions or advice, I'd appreciate it. I'll be calling all the major Printer companies (Xerox, Lexmark, HP, etc.) this week and getting their suggestions as well so I can decide which one will best meet my needs.

Thank you in advance!

The Hat

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, CR-10S, KP-3