which refill ink to buy for IP5200

thef1re

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Hey There,
Currently using a IP5200 and considering going to "refilling" path. This is my first time and ive got a few questions which i hope can be answered. I am from Australia and it costs ~A$120 for a full replcament, only $20 less then a new printer!!! INSANE I KNOW!

1) Which Brands do you guys reccomend? And which are "crappy" and should be avoided? (links are appreciated)

2) What are the risks involved besides voiding the warranty? Whats all this printhead stuff up i hear about, relating to using non-geniune inks? Ive read all these lockup issues but am very confused and now worried if i should go down the refill path.

3) After ive sucessfully refilled my tanks for the first time, would the logical thing to do is keep the levels up (maybe not below half way)?

4) Will refilling ink into my OEM carts work "forever". Is there a limit on how many times a cart can be filled (if yes, why?) If i keep my ink levels up, does that mean i can print and printer without any problems?

cheers!

websnail

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Epson, Canon, HP... A "few"
Already answered your queries on stevesforums so I won't repeat here... :)

hpnetserver

Printer Guru
Reaction score
I am not sure I can answer all your 4 questions. But I will try the question 3 and 4.