The Poor Man's ICC'ish Color Profiling

Paul Verizzo

Print Addict
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon ip4500, 9000 MK II, PRO-
OK, here are my iconoclastic thoughts about profiling. I'll probably put this up on a more permanent link.

PHILOSOPHY:

The poor man's ICC'ish color profiling.

I'm a graduate of the K.I.S. school of life's endeavors with a minor in Good Enough. In other words, how much time and effort and money is spent to tweak the last bits of whatever to perfection? (And then all that stuff like lighting variations, pigment ink problems, and human subjectivity undoes a bunch of that perfection stuff anyway.) Understanding the concept of diminishing returns, that with every additional input of time and money, the improvements are smaller and smaller. And that “stuff” is a poor substitute for skill.

Over the years I've collected quite a few step tablets, both physical and digital, or I scanned the physical ones. Besides any monitor adjustment you can do manually (and I have to say my Dell auto-adjust is pretty amazing,) a digital 21 step B&W tablet will instantly show if the highlights or shadows are being blocked. A well adjusted monitor will show a difference between each and every step. Got equality?

STARTING WITH MONOCHROME DENSITIES:

But you first need to make sure that the tablet is being seen as 0 in the black-most bit and 255 in the whitest. To do this, you need a photo/graphics program that will give the sRGB densities when you hover the cursor at a point on the step tablet. Canon Digital Photo Professional will do this, as will others. I presume Adobe products will, but I missed the Adobe gene, forgive me.