Streaks caused by "overprint sponge" - how to remove/clean excess ink?

ivanalbright

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
This problem is likely caused because I almost exclusively print massive amounts of the same size, same layout, borderless prints. For example, once a week, 500 4x6" pages with a black border all the way to the edge. I've been doing this for a quite a few months now. Lately, more and more of the prints get a kind of streaky inconsistent line along one side of the page.

I believe this is because the absorbent black sponge area (you can see in the photo below), is saturated with ink caused by overprinting the borderless edges. My question is if it is possible to remove and clean this spongy pad, and how to do so?

I have tried using paper towels and q-tips to absorb some of the ink off the spongey material while it was still in the printer. It did get quite a bit of black ink absorbed out, but there is still a lot remaining and the problem persists. Note that I've also tried plenty of head/nozzle cleanings in case that is the cause. This also occurs with many ink cartridges -- i've been through maybe 10 black ink cartridges and the problem keeps cropping up.

In the photo here, you can see the wide strip of black sponge material between the gray ribbon and metal bar. Toward the upper right of the photo, where the light is shining, is where the 4x6 borderless pages are printed and you may be able to see its much more saturated with black ink than the rest.

Thanks for any help!

l_d_allan

Fan of Printing
Reaction score
More info, please. My speculation is that it is way too soon to be considering waste-pad cleaning. You may eventually have to do that, but I'd hold off on that until other possibilities have been eliminated.

* Can you upload a sample picture that has the problem you describe?

* Can you update your profile with location, printer(s), and other refilling info like ink used, carts used, refilling method, etc.?