Starting New Inkjet and Toner company

savvy5321

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
I must say I was very impress with the response from this forum.

I am in the planning stage of opening my inkjet and toner business and I constantly see very expensive refilling machines, Im looking at spending at least $16,000 just to get the starter packages that fee does include the inkjet and toner machine as well as a few supplies. I would rather save my money for a storefront.

Do I need these very expensive machines to get started?
Where did you get your refill equipment from?
What equipment is a must have when refilling?
What do you wish someone told you when you started your inkjet business?

Im very new to the business, but I learn quickly so any helpful advice would be greatly appreciated.

The Hat

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, CR-10S, KP-3
Looking at your CV above, and if you dont mind criticism here goes.
Your planning must be at a very early stage to be asking does questions now.
Have you looked into your intended market to see whats out there and who your main competitors are, also a shop front now that is ambitious?
Keep it small, keep it tight, and know your intended customers, above all watch your cash flow.

Good luck.. ;)

savvy5321

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
You are very correct, I have been researching this for about 3months now. I have no competitors in my area there are some about 60 miles to the north and south of me. And there are 3 walgreens store with refilling machine locally here but they do not work well an still can not fill 46% of the cart. that customers bring.

I have looked into my customer base and there is plenty of small to med size business here. I'm focusing on private school, social clubs, Dr. offices, realtors and so on. I'm also in the process of completing my business plan and looking for mentors which is why i joined this forum.