row of nozzlecheck shows only half ???

Skyalex

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Hi I'm new to this, so I apologize for any stupid questions in advance :)

I've got a Canon MP600 and I've run out of ink at the PGBK tank. Unfortunately I didn't fill it up for about three weeks. Well, after I finally filled the cartridge back up, the nozzle check sheet showed only the top half of the PGBK line. All the other ones where fine. I did a couple of deep clean cycles but with no result. In fact the PGBK line always stops at the exact same half way down position. I tried to realighn the print head but the software doesn't let me. It comes a failure message: Blah Blah... head nozzles may be clogged ... blah blah ... execute cleaning ... Blah ... try again.
How can I clean these little nozzles? Why does it always stop at the exact position? I even tried to soak the bottom of the printhead for an hour in water but that didn't help either. The purge pump can't be damaged if it is working half way, or? Should I buy a new printhead?
Please help...
Thanks
A frustrated newbi :(

ghwellsjr

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Epson WP-4530
When a print head only prints exactly half of the nozzles for any particular color, that is an indication that there is an internal electrical problem which cannot be fixed except by buying a new print head.

Skyalex

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Hi,
why does it play up? It is not that old ( approx. 3 Years). Is there any particular reason? I printed with the other colors a lot. could that be a reason? Is it actually possible to fill this other black into the PGBK and print with this color (it is always left over...)?

Thank you
Cheers
Alex

ghwellsjr

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Epson WP-4530