refilled colour cartridge not working in HP843C printer

paulgault

Printing Apprentice
Reaction score
Hi,
i'm new to all this and would appreciate some help.
the mother-in-law give us a Hewlett Packard 843C printer when she got a new computer. the colour ink cartridge (it has hp c6625a on it) wasn't working so i put 10ml of ink in each reservoir but it still wont print anything. i think it has been empty for a long time.
can it be rescued? if so, how? i'd be very grateful!
Paul.

mikling

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Rub the head under hot water from a faucet for a minute or so. Dab the head and see if there are colors. If yes, do it again. Then try in printer. If there was no color.... get a new cart. If the colors are spotty... get a new cartridge. Otherwise it might take a lot of work and still not work.

ustilago

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
HP 17
Not one of my favorite cartridges. If the cartridge weight exceeds 130 grams it will not print properly.

Try soaking the print head in warm water and/or windex. If you still cannot get the cartridge to stamp on a piece of shop towel, try forcing some air through the vent plugs on the top of the cartridge. A syringe with a piece of aquarium tubing over the nipple makes a good inflation tool.
Be gentle, the print head is just glued on.

If none of those work, a couple of cycles in an ultrasonic cleaner might do the trick.

paulgault

Printing Apprentice
Reaction score
Thanks for the advice!
i've had some joy but it's not 100% yet.
i tried rubbing it under a hot tap for a few minutes but nothing came out when i tried to print.
next i soaked it in windolene overnight and forced air through the vent plugs. as i haven't got any aquarium tubing i had to get a good airtight seal between the syringe and the vent plugs a different way.