Recommend New Canon Printer

RWL

Fan of Printing
Reaction score
My i860 just died - the magic smoke came out. Sniff.

I'm pretty set on Canon since my experience with them over the years has been good compared to Epsons and HPs, and I've been refilling their cartridges for over 10 years.

Major requirement - ability to refill the cartridges easily, and the ability to reset the chip if the model takes chipped cartridges.

I print mostly documents, but occasionally I'll print photos. I print about once a week or every other week.

Not sure what my quality needs are with regard to 1pl 2pl 5pl print heads. I'll have to let you guys tell me what you see in the prints.

I'm not inclined to spend extra for an all in one since I have a working flatbed scanner, but if there's some advantage to spending the extra $$$, like superior prints or a great buy, I'd consider a multifunction machine.

Wires don't bother me, so I don't need wireless.

I occasionally print sheet music and it would be nice if there were an affordable printer that printed the large 12x18 sheets of paper. I'm know they exist at a price, but thought I'd mention it in case there's an obvious good choice there that's not really that much more expensive.

Canon's got a confusing series of model numbers, so it's hard to explore each one in a reasonable amount of time. The experience of others is a good start on researching what printer I want.

Thanks
RWL

pharmacist

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Epson SC-P800,WF-7840,XP-15000