Questions about number of pages printed & cheap ink/damage

Brazos

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
What a great site! First post. I have been refilling my cartridges for about 8 or 9 years and with a what I would call an above average success rate. I found this site last night & have learned more about inkjets/refilling in a few hours than all the years of trial & error. I run my printers hard - 100+ pages a day on the average & gone through 4 or 5 inkjet printers over the years. I using a Canon I960 now. I have been using cheap ink from the wholesale stores (or ink that I purchased by the quart years ago) or lately been buying cartiridges from E-bay. I'm now having problems printing - no surpise! Part of the problem is the cartiridges, ink that does not meet current printer standards & the need of cleaning. I just placed an order from Inkgrabber and will be cleaning the unit according to the info on this site. I will also buy a set of the original Canon cartidges & try refilling with some of the recomended ink. Now for a few questions.

1. How do I determine how many pages I have printed on the I-960? How many pages is practical before it or the print head just wears out? This printer is about 1 1/2 years old - so I have run alot of pages.

2. Have I done serious damage to the print head due to the cheap universal ink & cartidges?

I'm sold on Canon printers. I'm on my 2nd Canon for business & our family have 3 others. Great economical printers - much happier than the HP printers I use to run.

I would appreciate any info you can share with me & I'll try to not ask to many questions. I know to search the forum & it probably has been asked & answered but also wanted to say thanks for this site.

panos

Print Addict
Reaction score