Printing w/ missing cartridge(s)

ForestCat

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Hi all, excellent forum.
I'm a noob here, 1st post. A little background:

S900, using refilled (by me) oem cartridges. Started to notice major color problems recently, basically grayscales were all "brownscales". Nozzle checks looked to me like I somehow got cross contamination. Trying to troubleshhoot it, but I have a couple of basic (stupid?) questions.

I know certain printheads can be damaged if they are run dry, as they are ink-cooled, etc. My S900 will print with only the black cart installed, no complaints from either the printer or the driver.
My plan was to run all the ink out of everything downstream of the cartridges, and then see if I get true grayscales with just the black cartridge, and work my way back to six cartridges. I know it will use a lot of ink, & require light cleanings to "prime" the system again. Is this a stupid idea? Can the printer be damaged running it without cartridges? Is there a better way? The cartridges don't look contaminated to my eye, but its hard to tell objectively. Thanks for any insight.

--=ForestCat==--

drc023

Printer Guru
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon Pro-100, iP8720, MG6220
Have you checked the option for grayscale printing on the driver? It wouldn't be a good idea to run without ink for each color. The risk of damage is too high. Go back through other topics in this forum for print head cleaning procedures. You also may have an ink flow problem caused by ink cartridges which have outlived their usefulness. Could you post a scan of the nozzle checks.

ForestCat

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score