printing using custom inks

ben_danger

Printing Apprentice
Reaction score
hi there! i am an illustrator in need of some technical assistance!:D

i produce small 'zines' using my inkjet printer at home. it is a cheap old colour hp (black cartridge and CMY cartridge). i only print using black to keep costs down, and as colour isnt a key part of my practice. the one thing that annoys me about this printer is that if i use up all my cyan, the remaining magenta and yellow goes in the bin. but today i had an idea....

would it be possible to:

mix my own inkjet inks, for a printer (preferably a b/w printer, and preferably A3, although A4 is fine.)

i would make 2 A4 images to print. one which is black outlines, one which is blocks of a single custom colour. i would print using a cartiridge filled with custom black, then put the paper back in to print with custom colour. it would be used to produce these results

no_brow_close.jpg

Issue 1 of NOBROW magazine

it would basically be a poor mans lithograph studio.

i would like the random offsetting that would occur, so no need to worry about that.

could someone suggest a good printer that could be used for this?

all correspondence and suggestions are very welcome, as a sort of prize, the genius, or group of genii (is that the plural?) will recieve the first copies of whatever zine i produce by this method.

thanks!

ben

Nifty

Printer VIP
Administrator
Reaction score
Printer Model
CR-10, i560 ,MFC-7440N
Ben, I wish I had an answer for you, and hope someone will have some suggestions, but I will be subscribed to this thread to see what others have to say! Very interesting idea!

qwertydude

Printing Ninja
Reaction score