Printing on plastic - non glossy?

beatmania_king

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Hi there,

I am a university student and for a recent project I am undertaking I will need to print on platic. This may be a newie question but I am wanting to print a non-glossy picture onto plastic but everytime I try with my inkjet printer (Canon MP810) the ink does not stick and easily wipes off. So my question is:

* What type printer should I use (I can access many printers at uni)?
* What kind of ink should the printer use (need high quality, non-gloss finish)

If you need further information on anything please let me know.

Grandad35

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon i9900 (plus 5 spares)
Papers used on inkjet printers have a special surface coating which quickly absorbs the ink until it has time to dye the mordants in the paper and dry out. This link gives some basic information on inkjet papers.

Most plastic surfaces also have a very low surface tension so the ink will not wet out on the surface. When coupled with its non-absorbing nature, printing on plastic surfaces is usually a disaster (as you have found).

Try Googling for Inkjet transfer paper, and look for a product that can transfer the image to the plastic that you are using. These products have an inkjet compatible coating which can then be transferred to another product (usually cloth) with an iron.

Molitor

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Are you stuck with one specific type of plastic to print on? There's certain materials you're never going to get ink to stick to no matter what you do. A color laser printer might do better bonding printing to plastic, but running mystery plastic through a laser printer might not be so good for the printer.