Pixma Pro-100 power on?

tom6667

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon Pixma Pro-100
Just got my Pro-100 about 2 weeks ago. I am new to Canon, having abandoned my previously loved Epson Artisan 1430 due to print head failure.

I hear a lot of motor sounds, even after printing only one photo. Is this ink-wasting cleaning, or other maintenance that I don't understand? Upon startup it makes a lot of sounds too. Is it better to leave the printer on all the time or shut it off after a print session?

Thanks, Tom

turbguy

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon i960, Canon i9900
Yeah, it's performing a cleaning cycle (as well as some other self-testing and calibrating upon start-up). It's best to leave it on and print every few days to avoid waste ink during cleaning. I believe there's a timer in the printer that initiates a cleaning cycle if printing isn't done every X hours, but I don't know what X is...

Perhaps someone else on the forum can respond about X?

PeterBJ

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon MP990
A few Canon service manuals include a technical reference. This reference has info about when cleaning cycles are performed and the amount of ink used. The cleaning depends both on a timer and a drop counter. A service manual for the iP4200 that includes this technical reference is found here. See page 2-2 and 2-3. Sadly most service manuals don't have this technical reference and the service manual for Pro-100 seems nowhere to be found. But I think the Pro-100 probably behaves like other Canon dye printers regarding cleaning cycles.

I have noticed that keeping a Canon printer always connected to the mains and using only the printer's on/off button causes fewer cleaning cycles and a slower increase of the ink absorber counter "D-value" compared to disconnecting the printer from the mains after use.