New Costco Paper - printing both sides

MikeH

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Printer Model
Pro100
Thanks to this board, several years ago I found the Costco/Kirkland Photo Paper.

I'm an accountant with large-format landscape photography as a hobby - for the past 3 years, I have printed a calendar for my clients with tax due dates, etc., and added my photos to the top. So the photo goes on one side,
calendar for the prior month goes on the back.

Well, I figured out pretty quick that ink jet ink will not dry on the back, but laser works fine. The pages would get some static going through the laser, so I bought some construction paper and separate each page as it comes off the laser. (The photo goes on after the calendar is printed.) But the paper would then run through the photo printer, sometimes with a little "nudging."

Well, it's nice that this new stuff in made in the USA and costs a little less (the "old" stuff was still quite a bargain!), but some lasers won't print on the back. I had to buy a new drum & toner to get the quality that I wanted. AND, it is VERY "staticy." Most of the time, I need to feed the paper into my Canon 850 by hand - the printer tries to pull several sheets through at a time. This is the case even when I wait overnight after running the paper through the laser!

BTW, I use "Calendar Creator" (an old Win 3.1 version) - works great once you figure out how the margins work - there are 2 sets of margins. One for the general paper settings, one for how you want the calendar(s) to be on the page. You can memorize rules for dates - i.e., April 15 is 1040 due date, but move it to Monday if it's on the weekend. So the 1st year is a lot of work - after that it just needs to be tweaked.

fotofreek

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score