Need some printer advice regarding the i9900!

fortisi876

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Oh ok, thanks for the heads up, my goal was to try and get them as white as possible again, I thought they were possibly contaminated with dry ink hence the stain.

Before going too crazy I might try that drip test with water to see if it flows out better.

Grandad35

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon i9900 (plus 5 spares)
Water has a different surface tension and viscosity than ink, so it will probably not flow at the same rate. I have no experience on the drip rate with just water - you'll have to use ink to get a good reading.

fotofreek

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
My experience with purging third party carts was the same - the sponge didn't come out as close to white as the OEM carts. Some colors were cleaner than others. As Granddad mentioned, hot water works better than cold. I found that hot water purges were sufficient to permit a new cycle of refills without the need for the use of any cleaning liquids for cart purging.

fortisi876

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Thnx for all the info guys!

After reading about the German method I decided to go that route for refilling in the future, I drilled out all the carts but ran into a slight problem. Since my syringes have blunt tips (vs the needle like tip) I couldn't get the tip thru the filter material where the exit port is located on the 3rd party carts. I ruined one cart trying to push thru so I decided to put it off til I get the right syringes. I also converted the two older oem carts I had and oddly enough the blunt tip pushed thru w/out any problems, I guess the material is constructed differently between the two. Irregardless, the tip I had was just shy of being long enough to reach the ink reservoir.