Need help-refilling hp 57 cartridge problems; graininess, diluteness

shadowere

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Hi all,
This is my first time posting here so please go easy on me, couldn't find answers to these specific problems so...

I have an hp officejet 4255 all-in-one and after refilling my hp 57 cartridge, color printouts were very grainy, tried a number of things that didn't work then just left the printhead on a wet tissue paper for a few minutes. That took care of the graininess but caused the magenta to become diluted or something, red comes out looking like a dull orange (even though all other colors come out right). After printing red images 5 times with no change tried sucking out the red ink and injecting new (even tried a new ink bottle in case the first was diluted) and still no change. So my questions are:

1. What caused the graininess in the first place, can it be fixed without wetting the printhead?

2. How can I fix the diluteness (or whatever it is) and get true red back?

3. After refilling, I also taped over the injection holes, is that the right thing to do?

Any suggestions welcome,
Thanx in advance

-shadowere

alchemist

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Shadowere,

Could you provide a little more information to the following questions:
What ink are you using?

Did you soak the prinhead before attempting to refill, and if so what was your soaking solution?Did you then vacuum out the soaking solution, or centrifudge it out?

What did the cartridge weigh before refilling?

Did you tape over all the vent holes in the top cover?

Was the HP 57 and OEM or a remanufactured cartridge?

Sorry for so many questions but I would be just spitting into the wind with out a little more information.

Alchemist

shadowere

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
thanks for responding, with regard to the cartridge;