Looking for advice for an art printer

Verity

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Printer Model
HP Color Laser Jet MPF M283cdw
Hello!

I'm a digital artist and am looking to buy a midrange A3+ printer to print my artwork. I've tried to research this on my own and have come up with a few possible options, but I'd love to get some recommendations as well!

My art is highly detailed with lots of subtle shading. You can see it at veritysvisions . com if you need to have an idea of what it looks like.

Ideally I'd like to print on thick matte cotton paper with pigment inks. I don't plan on doing much glossy printing, but my housemate might want to do a little.

I'd like something that is refillable without too much hacking, or something like an ink tank.

3rd party inks like those at precision colors would be fine if they can perform like I need. Saving some money on ink would be wonderful, lol.

Something that isn't too huge would be nice. I have a small table that's 14 inches deep x 24w x 10h where it could sit with lots of space around it to deploy as needed, and I could put a slightly larger board on top of this table to stabilize it if needed.

I'd like something under $1k US if possible, but am willing to look at other options if they meet all my needs and concerns.

Thank you for your time!

Last edited:

Ink stained Fingers

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
L805, WF2010, ET8550
The printers typically recommended for such jobs are the Canon Pro 300 or the Epson P700 as A3 printers, but you might consider to upgrade to a larger format which the Canon Pro 1000 or the Epson P900 can support.