Is my Canon Pixma IP3000 dead?

sergiu

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Hello (for the first time) from Europe,
and glad to find this forum.

I received 2 years ago a Pixma IP3000, and since then I refilled it with compatible ink many times at home. I think I printed more than 3000 copies. Problems none, until few days ago when I realized that if I choose to color print at the High quality (I can choose between High, Standard, Draft quality) some colors wouldnt be printed (blue and red); but on the Standard or Draft quality everything worked fine.

Last night while I was printing at a Standard quality, I thought I hear some noise, and I approached my nose to the front of the printer and smelled a little smoke... I unplugged it imediatly but the printer wont start at all... What happened to it?

I feel like I lost a friend, because this gorgeous printer was like a friend to me.
I am a teacher and I print hundreds of copies of tests for my pupils, and this printer never let me down.
I think its printing head is broken, and if it is that, one costs about 150 euro in my country, that means half of my salary, so I can not afford to buy it and risk this happening again.

Thank you for your further information.

If there is no hope to fix it cheap, can anyone recommend a printer similar to this? All I am asking is to print b/w and color, the cartridges must be refillable. I don't ask color quality or fast printing.

ghwellsjr

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Epson WP-4530
I'm sure that the printing problem you had a few days ago is unrelated to whatever burned out last night and I doubt that it was your print head that burned out. Unfortunately, the print head is probably locked in its park position so you will not be able to remove it in case you wanted to try it out in another printer. If it stopped while printing, then you can probably remove the print head to see if that makes a difference, but I doubt it.