1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Picture Of The Week (POW) Information and Submissions
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Official PK Poll: Is there any future in refilling?
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  4. PK Featured Thread: IP4000 ink level never moves
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice

ip5200R, error 6000 after mainboard replacement

Discussion in 'Canon InkJet Printers' started by bertron, Dec 10, 2016.

  1. Dec 10, 2016
    bertron

    bertron Newbie to Printing

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Printer Model:
    Canon iP5200R
    Hello there,

    I have two ip5200R and both unfortunately had a damaged mainboard due to a defective print head. I couldn't switch them on neither could I enter the service mode, they were completely dead.
    So I got a new mainboard from an other ip5200R and a new print head.
    Now, after changing the mainboard, I can switch it on again, it does some movement with the carriage unit but then a strange noise from the line feed motor occurs (doing about 1 rotation, but very fast) and it ends up in showing error 6000 (3x cyclic blinking of green & yellow).
    I attached the new mainboard to the second ip5200 but it's the same issue here: error 6000.
    The timing disk film is clean and undammaged, also the sensor unit.
    Anything else I can check? I love these machines and used them quite a lot. Would be great to fix them again.
    Thanks,
    Bernd
     
  2. Dec 10, 2016
    stratman

    stratman Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,829
    Likes Received:
    2,111
    Trophy Points:
    323
    Location:
    USA
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP830, Pencil
    Welcome to the forum.

    Error 6000 is a Line Feed encoder signal error that can occur from a number of different locations/parts such as

    - Timing sensor unit
    - Timing slit disk film
    - Feed roller
    - Platen unit
    - Logic board
    - Paper feed motor

    An object such as paper may cause blockage inside the printer.

    Since this occurred with two different printers with your "new" used motherboard, I wonder if the "new" motherboard is the problem. It could also be your reassembly of each printer after installation of the motherboard suffered the same reconstruction error and therefore causes the same error code to occur.

    Either of these three potential causes could be the cause and require more or less disassembly of the printer to check for issues. Not fun but you're basically a pro at it after what you have already been through.

    Question: Why didn't you just use the 5200 that you scavenged the motherboard from?
     
    The Hat likes this.
  3. Dec 10, 2016
    bertron

    bertron Newbie to Printing

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Printer Model:
    Canon iP5200R
    Hello stratman,

    I got the "new" motherboard from someone whose kids dropped something in the printer .... and so he bought a new one. He gave me just the head and the circuit boards. Could it be that the error ist kind of stored in that board?
    Of course, the "new" board could be the problem. Don't think of a reconstruction error, as I was very carefull and also did write down where to place all the connectors.
    Or do I have to do some special adjustments during reassembling, e.g. a special position of the timing disk?
    I even can't enter into service mode, but I guess that is because of the error 6000.
    Do you know if there are other Canon models that use this particular mainboard, or is it just the 5200R?
     
  4. Dec 10, 2016
    Łukasz

    Łukasz Printer Guru

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    389
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Location:
    Poland
    Printer Model:
    MG6250 (MG5150 before)
    Hi,
    I'm afraid so.

    Remarks:
    1. Strange noise at startup seems to be from LF motor running very fast...
    2. Encoder disc is OK.
    3. Motherboard checked in another printer with same results.

    Łukasz
     
    PeterBJ, stratman and The Hat like this.
  5. Dec 10, 2016
    stratman

    stratman Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,829
    Likes Received:
    2,111
    Trophy Points:
    323
    Location:
    USA
    Printer Model:
    Canon MP830, Pencil
    I think forum member Lukasz is correct. The motherboard is the problem. Unfortunately I have no other suggestions. Maybe someone else will.
     
  6. Dec 11, 2016
    The Hat

    The Hat Printer VIP Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    8,436
    Likes Received:
    3,152
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    Wicklow Ireland
    Printer Model:
    Canon Rule in My House
    @bertron, this error is also on the replacement motherboard you have installed, and without power it should have been deleted, but is wasn’t obviously.

    You could try the printer without any carts or print head installed, then leave the printer unplugged for a few minutes, and this may have the effect of altering the EPROMS priority and it may then report no print head installed instead.

    Anything is worth a try at this stage...
    Error 6000.jpg
     
    pharmacist likes this.
  7. Jan 2, 2017
    bertron

    bertron Newbie to Printing

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    7
    Printer Model:
    Canon iP5200R
    Thanks for your help, but I think the mainboard is defenitely broken.
    I got another iP5200R which seems to be OK, but I noticed it has a strange pattern with PGBK at the nozzle test.
    Upper half is ok, but in the bottom half of PGBK every second segment is missing.
    Here comes a photo of the nozzle test print, so you can see what I mean.
    nozzletest ip5200r.JPG

    I already did a deep clean and also wiped the contacts of the printhead with isopropyl alcohol but it didn't change anything.
    Broken head? Or could some deeper cleaning (under water or using solvents) make it work again?

    bernd
     
  8. Jan 3, 2017
    PeterBJ

    PeterBJ Printer Master Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,219
    Likes Received:
    2,381
    Trophy Points:
    293
    Location:
    Copenhagen Denmark
    Printer Model:
    Canon iP5200 + more printers
    The pigment black nozzle check pattern is typical of an electronic print head failure. When a Canon print head fails in this way there is a risk that the print head damages the logic board. A logic board that has been damaged in this way might damage a new print head, so replacing a Canon print head is a gamble and I cannot tell the odds for success.

    Because of the risk that a defective print head can damage a logic board and the risk that a damaged logic board can damage a print head, swapping print heads between printers for troubleshooting is risky and not recommended.

    You might be lucky and find another printer using the QY6-0061 print head at thrift stores, flea markets and maybe electronic waste dumpsters. Other printer models that use this print head are iP4300, iP5200, MP600, MP600R, MP800 and MP830.
     
  9. Jan 3, 2017
    The Hat

    The Hat Printer VIP Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    8,436
    Likes Received:
    3,152
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    Wicklow Ireland
    Printer Model:
    Canon Rule in My House
    @bertron, if you are unsuccessful at getting a replacement head for your printer, you can continue to you the printer as is.

    Go into Devices & Printers and access the properties of the printer there and change the Media setting to photo matte paper, then click apply and exit.

    What that does is to set the printer to default to use only the dye inks each time your print, it will be a bit slow when outputting text and it will look a bit bolder, but the best part is you can continue to print photos also, it’s not ideal but it does work as an alternative...
     

Share This Page