ip5000 Printhead

mccoady

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon ip4300
I can't seem to find a new print head am I just out of luck?

I've been using Ink Grabber cartridges for a few years now with little issues although I've changed print heads once before. My colors are all off and I've replaced all the carts with new carts but it still doesn't print right. I've ran countless cleaning cycles both regular cleaning and deep plus head alignment with no improvement.

I've tried blowing compressed air through the nozzles as Neil Slade suggests but that didn't help. I did find it strange though while doing this that no ink came out of any of the nozzles except the the large black cart that prints text only I would think I should be getting ink out of all of them.

I sure hate giving up on this printer for several reasons printing on dvds being one plus the carts are cheap to replace and last quite awhile. Any suggestions?

twoob

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Have you tried searching for the specific printhead model number rather than say 'ip5000 printhead'?
Last time I searched for a printhead for the ip5000 I couldn't find a source in the UK only the USA.
The cost worked out the same even with the postage, about 50.

I went through about 3 printheads in the couple of years I had it. I found it had a tendency to get
blocked print nozzles if I didn't use it for more than a couple of weeks. I used non OEM ink cartridges.
Something I experimented with for unblocking the printhead was an ultrasonic cleaner. It was a bit
hit or miss though, it could unblocked nozzles that the cleaning cycle couldn't but it could also
'break' nozzles that were working. Something to try only in desperation I think.

In the end I decided to cut my losses and buy a new printer.

PeterBJ

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon MP990