ip4300, yellow blocked?

hendoben

Printing Apprentice
Reaction score
I've tried cleaning the printhead a few times, and for the first page or two the yellow will print, but then it stops again. I've been using a CISS for a few years, so I tried a spare cartridge I had lying around and it's the same deal, so i guess that rules out the CISS being the problem.

All the other colours are coming through fine, it's just the yellow. I did google it and read somewhere that the yellow ink dries out quicker than the other colours, so could it be dry ink inside the printhead?

The Hat

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, CR-10S, KP-3
The problem you have could be in several places so dont rule anyone of them out before youre sure.

It could be in your CISS cartridges, the feed tubes, the ink reservoir,
the purge unit, the ink itself and last but not least your print head.

I would suggest you try a new good cartridge first, one that you know to be working properly,
an aftermarket, or refilled OEM cartridge, and then you could rule out the cartridge as not the problem.

An old cartridge from several years ago may not be in the best of condition to deliver
a good enough ink flow to give a good test, so in that respect its not much help to you.

Buy borrow, beg, or steal a new cartridge would be the best place
to start your trouble shooting from and then take it from there.. :)

geezzrcanon

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
I would try booting it up in service mode (you can see this on net) do a nozzle check then a b clean if that don't work see if you have air in tubes this can be flushed by telling the printer you have replace the printhead if that don't work then you need a new printhead but you will not get it on warranty if you have used refills

hendoben

Printing Apprentice
Reaction score
The Hat said:
The problem you have could be in several places so dont rule anyone of them out before youre sure.