ip3000 magenta fails after start of page

sneezer2

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Printer Model
mp610
I have an ip3000 that has given great service. I've been refilling cartridges for nearly five years
with little trouble. I've used inks from atlascopy.com and have bought only two cartridges in
that whole time. Some of you may have quibbles about that but it was before I discovered
this forum, so I didn't have much of the information you have developed.

Now, however, I have a problem and would like some help with a decision on whether to try
harder or to just junk it. Recently, I've had to print good quality photos for an upcoming court
appearance (tax appeal, I am not a crook :). Suddenly, the printer started acting as if the
magenta ink was not available, though the cartridge was full. I've done a lot of cleaning and
even tried some strange tactics but the results are not good. I bought a genuine Canon
magenta cartridge but the results are the same.

What happens is that the magenta works fine for the first quarter of the page, then quits.
Apparently there is some kind of ink-flow problem but I can't deduce what it is. I have a
hard time believing the head is shot because it works fine for a couple of inches.

If any of you has some ideas or experience with this sort of thing, I'd like some help.

Thanks.

sneezer2

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Printer Model
mp610
Well, after looking around the forum, I've found that they may not be so strange after all. But anyway, here they are:

1) Took the print head out and washed it in tap water, trying to get as much old ink out as possible.

2) Subjected the print head to a treatment with an "ultrasonic cleaner" of my own devising. In other words, I
submerged it in ordinary tap water then immersed an electric toothbrush and turned it on. Didn't touch the head
with the brush, only put it close to get the "ultrasonic" effect.