Introducing Myself (ElectricXpert)

ElectricXpert

Printing Apprentice
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon G4200 and TS202
I am a college student who loves DIY projects. I am tired of being ripped off and the ink being more expensive than the printer. Once I get into grad school I will print and bind my own textbooks to avoid the college textbook racket. Avoiding two ripoffs at once while learning how printers work. I want to learn more about photography since photo labs are too expensive.

The Hat

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, CR-10S, KP-3
I want to learn more about photography since photo labs are too expensive.
Firstly welcome, now there are no such things as a free lunch when it comes to inkjet printers, they are all expensive to run, but you can reduce your costs by using 3rd party filled cartridges, you won’t get the longevity but that’s how things are..

Electrojim

Printing Apprentice
Reaction score
Printer Model
Epson WF-2960
Firstly welcome, now there are no such things as a free lunch when it comes to inkjet printers, they are all expensive to run, but you can reduce your costs by using 3rd party filled cartridges, you won’t get the longevity but that’s how things are..
Hello to 'The Hat':

Just stumbled across your welcome here while surfing the site, and wondered exactly what you meant by, "...you won't get the longevity...". Do you mean the ink runs out more quickly with third-party cartridges, or does non-OEM ink do damage to the printer? Thanks in advance for any clarification.

The Hat

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
what you meant by, "...you won't get the longevity..."
but you can reduce your costs by using 3rd party filled cartridges, you won’t get the longevity but that’s how things are..

If you use 3rd party inks or cartridges, your printing costs do go down, but so does the print quality, all 3rd party inks fader much faster than OEM inks (longevity)..