Inkling Introduction / About Me

Inkling

Printing Apprentice
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Epson XP-15000 ET-2840
I've just started to get serious about printing my photos. This forum is incredibly supportive. I look forward to many enjoyable discussions with the friendly forum members.

I have been a keen photographer for many years, but I have exactly one picture hanging on the walls of my apartment that I took myself. Before Christmas I printed some pictures for relatives on an HP Envy printer and the joy of holding my own pictures in my hand was incredible. At the time, I really had no idea how to put pictures on paper properly. At least I had an ICC profile created for the HP printer years ago.

Then I got a message from HP that they were increasing the cost of the Instant Ink program again, so I decided to cancel Instant Ink and get a new printer. After a lot of research, I bought an ET-2840 and initially filled it with 3rd party pigment inks. We often make greeting cards out of paper and smudge resistance was very important to me. I also thought that pigment ink would definitely be better than dye ink. After filling the printer for the first time, I got my first shock: the print image got worse with every printout. After a few cleaning programs that brought no improvement, I decided to go to bed and had a restless night. The next day I did another nozzle check and lo and behold - everything was fine.

Then I realized that my old HP printer had produced a much finer print image and the colors with the pigment inks were extremely yellow and magenta. So I bought a Datacolor Spyder Print, which I sent back after many unsuccessful attempts. Then I decided that I would only use the printer for text and craft work and that I needed a proper photo printer.

That's how I ended up with the XP-15000. I'm thrilled with the first prints and I'm excited to see where the journey takes me.