I Need Help / I Need To Buy A Printer

Arrielle

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Hello,
I am writing to you as I BADLY need help.

I need to buy a printer with cartridges that can be refilled (inkjet) and also that last for a long time. I am a foreign student and I have to print at least 50 pages each day and I cannot afford to buy original cartridges.

I bought a HP Deskjet 1000 hoping that I will be able to refill the cartridge. I bought the appropriate ink from e-bay (from Nano Digital) but the cartridge itself broke after 70 pages printed.

You would help me a lot if you could tell me:

1. which printer should I buy ( as I plan to take this back to Walmart)
2 which cartridge last the longest - after being refilled
3. Which type of ink / from what website - should I buy.

I know that Canon uses some cartridges that can be refilled many time. A friend of mine had it and used it for thousands of pages but I don't remember the precise type of printer.

I would much appreciate your help.
Thank you.
Ariel

Mowerman90

Print Addict
Reaction score
If this printer is going to be used for only text pages and not photo printing I'd suggest you buy one of the low price laser printers offered by
Brother or Samsung. They can often be found for only $59 on sale at Office Depot or Staples. Compatible toner cartridges can be bought on the
web for as low as $23 offering up to 3000 pages, or, you can get kits to refill your own empty cartridge. I have several printers but use a Brother
HL2140 laser to print invoices for my business every month. It's very reliable and I only have to change toner carts maybe once or twice per year.
Very thrifty!

gigigogu

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
If you need to print in color then search for a Canon Pixma IP3600. This model is still available in some places and is easy to refill. However, is not as cheap as HP Deskjet 1000.