HP 612C printer - Fails to print documents

mataney

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am a college student struggling to get by with 7 year old printer so please help me out in figuring what is the problem that I have encountered...

I have HP 612C printer that served me well for the past 7 years but for during the past week and a half every time I send a file to be printed, printer draws in the paper and all of suddent sends me THIS DOCUMENT FAILED TO PRINT message. I have tried to troubleshoot the problem myself using the owner manual, starting with wiping and cleaning cartridges, re-installing driver for the printer, checking cables connections, making sure there is enough paper, dusting, cleaning, polishing u know it but that did not solve my problem...... Basically there are two light indicators on the printer, on for the power and the other one is the paper refill/resume button. When the problem occurs power light stays steady on and the resume button light is blinking. Pressing resume button does not do anything. I have to cancel printing job and turn off and on the printer in order to reset its light indicators to what they should be normaly but if I try to print agin - same thing happens. Freeing more memory did not fix the problem. Restarting the computer did not do anything...So I am wondering where and what is the problem? Communicationg between the computer and the printer? Is it printer itself? Computer? The printing job stalls exactly when the ink cartridge is place over the paper. After the error message that I receive, paper jams and stays in the printer until I turn it off...