1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Picture Of The Week (POW) Information and Submissions
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Official PK Poll: Is there any future in refilling?
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  4. PK Featured Thread: A Basic Question on Linen Paper?
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice

How to remove PRO-1 printhead ?

Discussion in 'Canon InkJet Printers' started by Anadrol, Sep 27, 2016.

  1. Feb 13, 2018
    Emet

    Emet Newbie to Printing

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Printer Model:
    canon pro-1
    Has anyone got instructions on how to remove and replace the printhead if I go that route.
    I think I can do it. I have quite a bit of experience in this realm, enough to know that I can easily mess up if I don't have good directions.
     
  2. Feb 13, 2018
    The Hat

    The Hat Printer VIP Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,422
    Likes Received:
    4,560
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Wicklow Ireland
    Printer Model:
    Canon were, BUT 3D is better..
    First get the new print head, then when your're ready PM me for help..
     
    PeterBJ likes this.
  3. Feb 13, 2018
    palombian

    palombian Print Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    842
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Location:
    Belgium
    Printer Model:
    Pro9500II, MAXIFY MB5350
    Seems to be without VAT but still cheaper then.
     
    The Hat likes this.
  4. Feb 28, 2018
    kevin taylor

    kevin taylor Printing Apprentice

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Printer Model:
    Canon Pixma Pro 1
    Hi Guys, have the same problem as a horizontal faded line on all the black and grey colours on print test page. I am presuming there is an electrical failure with the printhead, also the Printer comes up with the B200 error message. I have now ordered a new replacement printhead from CRC-Tasktron which is on its way. Can anybody help me in the instruction for changing the heads over please??? Many thanks.
     
  5. Feb 28, 2018
    The Hat

    The Hat Printer VIP Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,422
    Likes Received:
    4,560
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Wicklow Ireland
    Printer Model:
    Canon were, BUT 3D is better..
    Hi @kevin taylor, to determine what caused your problem in the first place, can you post a nozzle check of your last printout, and did you have any trouble getting the print head from Tasktron, they implied they weren’t selling the Pro 1 head to home users.

    Quote from Tasktron “Genuine Canon Print Head QY6-0081-000 for Canon PRO 1 *Requires fitting by qualified Canon Engineer* “
     
  6. Feb 28, 2018
    Sergey

    Sergey Getting Fingers Dirty

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Printer Model:
    Canon Pixma Pro-1
    Hello, wise people of Printerknowledge!
    I too have a problem with my Pro-1's printhead, but my story is a bit longer.

    It all began, when I bought a used Pro-1 from some photographer, who claimed he hasn't been using it for about a year. He was selling it quite cheap, I know canon's unclogg quite well, so I desided to take a chance and revive the beast. And I did. It took a system flush, several deep cleans with long pauses as canon instructs and some usual nozzle cleaning cycles. I did not make any test prints before a system flush and a few deep cleans, for fear of burning nozzles. I used compatible inks to minimize the cost of unclogging procedure, and because I was uncertain of the result.

    After I got a decent nozzle test print, I printed some photos and discovered that grey inks were pure trash. Bought OEM greys and an OEM Red, installed them and began printing purge pages of 80% and 50% grey.
    When I started to get better test pictures, I did a nozzle check print and saw, that PBK had a faint banding. Cleaning cycles did not help, banding remained in the same location. So I thought the printhead is fried. Test page showed it ran only about 900 prints.

    But to make things worse after the cleaning cycles the print head started dripping ink on paper. First Chroma Optimizer.. then Cyan.. then Magenta and Cyan. I checked my cartridges, their ports. No leaks, clean, ports look ok.
    Then I dismantled the poor printhead and took off the plastic top cover (the blue handle is fixed on it). I saw, that ink came from small holes under the membrane, that seals the top of the "inner tanks" on the printhead! I showed that so some people who deal with printers more than I do, and they supposed that someone may have been trying to clean the printhead with a syringe and may have applied too much pressure. May be that is true, I am at a loss.

    Leaking membrane video:

    So now I am looking for a source of genuine Pro-1 printheads. The printer is not very popular in Russia and the supply is short. And surprisingly expencive. I found that eparts_fr can deliver one to me. There are a few on EBay. Does anyone know how much should a genuine QY6-0081 printhead cost?
    (sorry if my wording is clumsy, not my native language)

    And also - can anyone send me the instructions on how to change printhead correctly? I dismantled the bad printhead myself.. not sure I did that by the book.
    bad test print pro-1.jpg PBK contrasty.jpg _2222067.JPG _2232094.JPG _2232081.JPG _2232109.JPG
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2018
  7. Feb 28, 2018
    The Hat

    The Hat Printer VIP Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,422
    Likes Received:
    4,560
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Wicklow Ireland
    Printer Model:
    Canon were, BUT 3D is better..
    Hi Sergey
    Now for the bad news, you went about reviving your printer in completely the wrong way, the printer can unclog itself with no intervention from its new owners.

    It is not your standard printer, so it doesn’t respond very well to the normal or usual way any other Canon painter would, the only thing necessary is a normal head clean, if that fails to work then a deep head clean is called for, but no printing should take place till you get the nozzle print perfect, (Nozzle prints expectable).

    Left to stand for 12 hours, then print another nozzle check, and after all that time if the nozzle print has not improved or the clog is in the same position, then run a few more normal head cleans, if no further improvement, then a system clean maybe used, that will refresh all the inks and clean the print head also.

    It’s quite possible you may have damages the print head yourself by running repeated deep head cleans, the printer should normally rest 24 hours between deep head cleans.

    A Pro 1 print head may not be that easy to source, because Canon are recommending that suppliers carry out the work themselves in house rather than sell the unit on to an unqualified customer.

    If you were able to remove the original print head then refitting will be done in exactly the same way, the hard part is getting it out safely.

    Your last nozzle prints, despite the PBK looking a bit dodgy, would have worked after running some test sheets...
     
  8. Feb 28, 2018
    Sergey

    Sergey Getting Fingers Dirty

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Printer Model:
    Canon Pixma Pro-1
    So, it was a bad idea to start with a system flush and deep cleans? I was afraid that old ink in the tubes might cause problems.. being pigment..
    Here is the first good test print I saved, that came after one of the cleans (can I use "clean" as a noun in plural?):
    good test print pro-1.jpg
    Ok, I did not write, that a few days ago I resealed the membrane with a flowable silicone windshield sealant :rolleyes:. And just a moment ago, I tried reinstalling the Frankenstein print head back.
    But the refined pro-1 now just tells me, rightfully, to go f*** myself with a B200 error.
    I should just get a new print head and stop torturing the machine. Or may be better get a simpler printer.
     
  9. Feb 28, 2018
    The Hat

    The Hat Printer VIP Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,422
    Likes Received:
    4,560
    Trophy Points:
    393
    Location:
    Wicklow Ireland
    Printer Model:
    Canon were, BUT 3D is better..
    @Sergey, The printer had an active memory and is therefore very intellect as printers go, and when you do something it dislikes it hits you with one of its many error codes, and what its telling you now, is to get a new print head, then it will cooperate with you again.

    If you manage to source a new head from somewhere, PM me and I will help you reinstall it properly... ;)
     
    Sergey likes this.
  10. Mar 1, 2018
    kevin taylor

    kevin taylor Printing Apprentice

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Printer Model:
    Canon Pixma Pro 1
    IMG_1778.jpg
    I have ordered the head from crc via ebay £139.99. So i didnt buy direct from their website.
     

Share This Page