Getting Started with Refilling Canon CLI-8 Cartridged

wcandrews@sccoast.net

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Introduction
Let me begin by thanking all of you on this forum for all your information, advice and help. This is truly a great resource for all refilling problems. I have had a lot of experience with refilling Canon BCI-6 carts for a Canon i9900, but none with CLI-8 carts with chips. My objective with this post is to try to pull all the pieces together from the many threads I have used in an attempt to help the next beginner to get started with refilling CLI-8 carts. There will be some, but not much, new material that has not been posted before, but all that info is scattered in various threads.

While I want to make printing more economical by refilling ink cartridges, I will never do that at the sacrifice of final print quality. That makes getting the right ink for refilling the cartridges critical, and in addition, the delivery system cartridges must be first class.

It was possible to buy good third party BCI-6 cartridges for refilling, and quality ink also. The cartridges all used what we now call the top fill method and was messy and prone to overfilling, but after a while I got the hang of it and did very well with it.. The final ink I used in the BCI-6 cartridges was from Media Street and gave outstanding results at least as good as Canon OEM. In all the years of using this system and ink, I never had a fading problem.

Just so you will know, I have a complete color managed workflow. I use xRite i1 Pro hardware and software to create profiles for monitor, printer, and scanner. Unless stated otherwise, all of the visual conclusions I give will come from that color managed workflow.

9000Pro II Problems