FNO - Basics of combining ink colors

Grandad35

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon i9900 (plus 5 spares)
This is the first of several discussions on inks and their use in inkjet printers. The "FNO" is short for "For Nerds Only" to warn those who aren't interested in the technical details that they might want to skip any post with this warning.

As was stated in a previous post, I am not an expert in these subjects so feel free to correct any misleading statements or errors. I have not found much detailed information on these subjects on other sites, so I decided to do my own research and post what I think that I have learned. Most of these posts will present data gathered from a spectrophotometer, and a quick explanation/description of these displays was given in (http://www.nifty-stuff.com/forum/viewtopic.php?pid=2938#p2938) for those who want to follow these posts.

When considering how inks generate colors, it is instructive to start by looking at how our eyes sense various colors. This link (http://www.photo.net/photo/edscott/vis00010.htm) provides a good explanation of the 3 sets of color sensors in out eyes and gives the wavelengths that trigger each sensor.

Computer displays (monitors/LCDs) create colors by combining their Red/Green/Blue light sources in varying strengths, and are called additive color systems because the 3 colors add together to generate the light that we see (http://www.photo.net/photo/edscott/rep00020.htm).