1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Picture Of The Week (POW) Information and Submissions
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Official PK Poll: Is there any future in refilling?
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  4. PK Featured Thread: How to take pictures of gloss differential properly?
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice

"Flashing ink and paper button simultaneously during self check"

Discussion in 'InkJet Continuous Flow Systems' started by Cary, Sep 3, 2015.

  1. Sep 3, 2015
    Cary

    Cary Getting Fingers Dirty

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    25
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Printer Model:
    UV flatbed printer China
    I purchased this UV flatbed printer from China a few months. When I have it running it works great and I'm please with the quality and operation. When it is not running, which is most of the time, I have no tech support or clue for that matter how to repair it.

    Anway, with this issue, when I power on the printer, It goes into self check mode and stops immediately over capping station. Both the ink light and the paper light flash simultaneously.

    One clue that may or may not help. The error started after resetting the waste ink pad counter. I noticed over the past week I was having to reset this counter more regularly as well.

    Any troubleshooting advice is much much appreciated!


    Uses Epson L800 driver
    Epson r290 printer head
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2015
  2. Sep 4, 2015
    The Hat

    The Hat Printer VIP Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    3,453
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    Wicklow Ireland
    Printer Model:
    Canon Rule in My House
    It would sound like the reset was not successful and the printer is telling you so with the flashing LED’s, maybe your procedure need a bit more refining and polishing more to convince the machine that the waste pads have actually been changed..
     
  3. Sep 4, 2015
    Cary

    Cary Getting Fingers Dirty

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    25
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Printer Model:
    UV flatbed printer China
    Thanks for the ideas. Definitely a possibility. The inkpad counter on the reset software definitely shows that it has been reset however maybe the printer for some reason is not recognizing this as you mention. I'll work on it a bit. Appreciate the input!
     
    The Hat likes this.
  4. Sep 4, 2015
    Cary

    Cary Getting Fingers Dirty

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    25
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Printer Model:
    UV flatbed printer China
    Well, strangely when turning on the printer after giving up a week ago, the problem went away??? Sadly now a new issue which seems to expected with this machine.
     
  5. Sep 25, 2015
    Cary

    Cary Getting Fingers Dirty

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    25
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Printer Model:
    UV flatbed printer China
    Sadly this problem has come back again and my printer in not functioning at all. Using the Wic reset software I was able to find the error 50H which is "cannot seek cr home position" this would makes sense as the error code occurs about 5 seconds into the self check when I turn on the printer and the carriage is moving into home position? Any ideas? So frustrated. I have all these print jobs to do and I've been down 3 weeks now!
     
  6. Sep 25, 2015
    The Hat

    The Hat Printer VIP Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    3,453
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    Wicklow Ireland
    Printer Model:
    Canon Rule in My House
    Hi @Cary, it sound like you’re in deep trouble, have you taught of contacting your provider about this problem under warrantee.

    Most of what has happened seems to have come from you using the Wic Reset App, where did you get this program from, was it for your specific model printer ?

    I am surmising here, maybe you got the wrong APP or used it incorrectly, was it free or one you had purchased ?

    Because everything seems to be leading back to this one operation, it sounds like you may need a complete EPPROM reset back to factory default..
     
  7. Sep 28, 2015
    websnail

    websnail Printer VIP Platinum Printer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,220
    Likes Received:
    644
    Trophy Points:
    317
    Location:
    South Yorks, UK
    Printer Model:
    Epson, Canon, HP... A "few"
    That home position error sounds like the printhead is "lost" and the issue is more likely something blocking the path of the printhead or messing with the timing strip and/or sensor that sits in the back of the printhead. So, a few things to check.
    1. Can the printhead travel all the way to the left and right properly?
    2. Check for any debris, rubbish that might be getting in the way... particularly anything that's soaked in ink and very well camouflaged
    3. Check the clear plastic strip that runs along the back of the printhead from left to right. In particular check that it is hooked up properly and clean.
    You may find that going through the above helps sort things out but if you're still stuck, take some pictures of the printers innards, particularly the cleaning/resting pad (or capping station as it seems to be getting called now) and the strip at the back..
     
    The Hat likes this.
  8. Oct 5, 2015
    Cary

    Cary Getting Fingers Dirty

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    25
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Printer Model:
    UV flatbed printer China
    Thanks again for trying to help me resolve this persistant problem. To your points above.

    1. Printhead moves freely no problem.
    2. Definitely no debris in the way. The capping station is new now as I replaced it when I was having trouble getting the printer to draw any ink and i determined that it was the head not sealing at the cap.
    3. I've cleaned the encoder strip a few times with no luck hoping this was the problem.

    An idea is coming to me right now. Maybe the reason the printhead wasn't drawing ink was that the printer head actually was not sitting directly over the capping station as it should and the error code is related to this??? Anyway, I'll post some pictures of the inside of the printer. Thank you again for putting some brain power into this. Sadly the company I purchased the printer from won't return my emails or phone calls and I have no idea where else to go. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4OUliEAf7hY
     

Share This Page