Fed up

jagans

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Hello, and thanks to all of you in advance for your help. I have been using Epson 785EPX and Epson 825 Printers for several years now. I have read all there is to read on them, I can take one apart in about 1.5 minutes and have valiantly fought the dried out printhead problem ad nauseum. I found that clearing the printhead with a hot ammonia and distilled water solution worked well to clear the printhead, followed by about 4-5 cleaning cycles. I want through my usual procedure the other day on a 785EPX and An 825, and put in two new aftermarket carts from Inkkeepers .com. I have been using their carts for a while and have had good luck with them. I kept our carts in the refrigerator, as I figured that would make them more stable.

Long story short, I am getting nothing from either the 785 or the 825, even after installing a second set of carts in one of the printers. When I say nothing, I mean nothing. zip, oogats, nada. This never happened before now, so I am rightfully confused and very frustrated.

Do I need to reset something? Have I burned out the printheads? Can you burn out the heads? (Yes I know the principle of operation, vibrating crystals)

I am ready to throw all my epsons into a dumpster, and go to Canon, or HP, but can they produce the same photo quality which I have learned to expect from Epson? (When they are working)?

I want to have reliable inkjet printers that can print photo quality as good as the epsons, have visible ink tanks that can be refilled, and dont require 6,789,000 cleaning cycles after changing the carts.

Is this asking too much?

Am I cheap? No I dont think so, but I despise being ripped off. The cost of OEM cartridges should be considered illegal, just like the price of RAM in the early 90's should have been. The carts must cost all of about .22 cents for the MFR to make. (yes, I know I missed the g)