Epson Stylus 1500w - Missing details at 1440 ppi

Ink stained Fingers

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2014
Messages
4,409
Reaction score
5,258
Points
313
Location
Germany
Printer Model
L310/805/1800, Pro7600, WF2010
I have printed few days ago, a couple of samples at 10x10 cm with 720 dpi! and because I have used the wrong settings (like I did these days) it is missing a lot of detail it translates a blurriness, a 3d image without depth.

Today I have printed at 720 with much better detail than before. Some pictures will look almost as good as 1440
So what - there is still essential information missing - how many pixel does the original image file have ? And how is it generated - is it a photo or computer generated or ?
 

maximilian59

Printer Guru
Joined
Jul 20, 2018
Messages
181
Reaction score
274
Points
115
Location
Germany, Schwabmünchen
Printer Model
Pro-1000, Pro-100s, Xp-7100
Double click what?

As far as I can see, every action is done with a single mouse button click, whether to open the linked file (left mouse button) or open a pop up menu (right mouse button) to then perform a single left mouse button action of some sort like Save As.
Now on Windows:
Did a left klick and the file is shown in Bart's dropbox. Then I choosed "Direkt herunterladen" after klicking on the down arrow. Both files are as TIF in my download folder.
I don't know whats different on your machine.
Cheers,
Maximilian
 

Attachments

  • Printres.png
    Printres.png
    516 KB · Views: 31
  • printres_files.png
    printres_files.png
    102.3 KB · Views: 28

The Hat

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
13,985
Reaction score
7,589
Points
433
Location
Residing in Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, CR-10S, KP3
So what - there is still essential information missing - how many pixel does the original image file have ? And how is it generated - is it a photo or computer generated or ?
Ah yes , but that information seems to be a secret or private and not forth coming and if we got the proper information at the outset we could have save a lot of time answering the simple request, instead of it turning into an unknown conundrum..

Mine opens and is described as a 11.5 Mb Tiff..
tiff.JPG
click to enlarge..
 
Last edited:

Ink stained Fingers

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2014
Messages
4,409
Reaction score
5,258
Points
313
Location
Germany
Printer Model
L310/805/1800, Pro7600, WF2010
if we got the proper information at the outset we could have save a lot of time answering the simple request,
It could have been that simple.......


As long as there are compression artifacts visible the data file was jpg compressed at an earlier time, and opening such a file and resaving it as a .tiff file won't take those artifacts away. And there is another indicator
for it - the number of unique colors running at about 22 000 in a file which appears to be in grayscale only.
Creating plenty of colors which are not part of an original image is typical for jpg compression as well.
 

Attachments

  • JPG Artifacts.png
    JPG Artifacts.png
    6.7 KB · Views: 29

Gubenco

Printing Apprentice
Joined
Sep 1, 2021
Messages
25
Reaction score
1
Points
15
Printer Model
Epson1500w
Hello guys, Sorry for late.

So what - there is still essential information missing - how many pixel does the original image file have ? And how is it generated - is it a photo or computer generated or ?

It is a computer generated image. Starting with this moment I will generate my images at 720ppi (I was planning to have it at 1440 but as we see Epson does not consider such resolution).

I've opened this thread because I was confused about maximum inkjet printer resolution in PPI. I mean the digital image that enters into printer halftoning pipeline or whatever they call it. Therefour it is impossible to reproduce a 1440ppi image on paper.

Of course you can do your tests but al my tests and the very artifact made me starting this thread shows that Epson software resizes the image to 720PPI. This means 3/4 of my detail vanishes.

I should trust @Ink stained Fingers right form the beginning but I didn't. He knows his job.

-- and here is an important information for everyone. If by any chance you have larger than 720ppi image better to rescale it using at least a bilinear but the bicubic algorithm may be better. If you let printer's driver to do the resize for you it will resize the image using "nearest neighbor"! Do not let the printer driver to resample for you unless you need NN method.

I promise I will return here to post updates if by any chance I get news about this but I feel this won't happen any soon. Thank you everyone, I wish you all the best.
 
Last edited:

maximilian59

Printer Guru
Joined
Jul 20, 2018
Messages
181
Reaction score
274
Points
115
Location
Germany, Schwabmünchen
Printer Model
Pro-1000, Pro-100s, Xp-7100
It could have been that simple.......


As long as there are compression artifacts visible the data file was jpg compressed at an earlier time, and opening such a file and resaving it as a .tiff file won't take those artifacts away. And there is another indicator
for it - the number of unique colors running at about 22 000 in a file which appears to be in grayscale only.
Creating plenty of colors which are not part of an original image is typical for jpg compression as well.
I can't see artifacts. At the numbers it may seem like this. What software are you using and what screen? Here is a png made on a old gaming screen with windows viewer and with 500% with Photoshop. The gray pixels are no artifacts. That is how the pattern is designed. This file is not ment to measure physical resolution like the Clark pattern. It's made for viewing a print with the naked eye from choosen viewing distance. If you print it, you will see whether the printer performes right in both directions.
 

Attachments

  • Printres720big.png
    Printres720big.png
    472.4 KB · Views: 30
  • Printres720bigPS.png
    Printres720bigPS.png
    82.4 KB · Views: 27

stratman

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
8,449
Reaction score
6,859
Points
393
Location
USA
Printer Model
Canon MB5120, Pencil
I don't know whats different on your machine.
Neither did I until your post. I did not see the Dropbox like you did. The reason: I use a Firefox add on called NoScript that can block certain web content. My default settings with NoScript blocked 2 web elements on the Dropbox page. I could see the JPG image but not the Dropbox elements on the right side of the page. Once I unblocked those web elements I could see the Dropbox and directly download an 11.5 MB TIF image.

Thanks! :thumbsup


As @The Hat would say

1630948102745.png
 

stratman

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
8,449
Reaction score
6,859
Points
393
Location
USA
Printer Model
Canon MB5120, Pencil
@Ink stained Fingers - did you give me a Like because I solved my riddle or the PEBKAC?

On second thought don't answer. ;)
 
Top