Epson Artsian 827 Screaming deal and ink questions

dclus

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Hello All,

This is my first post and would like to share the deal I got and my impression.

This was a couple months ago, I started researching ink-jet printers and came up with my best choice which was the Epson 827 All-In-One printer, for my needs. I'm an engineer, so I tend to pound things to death before I make a move... Finely, headed over to my local Office Supply where they just happened to be having sales. Found a salesman and ironically, he lead me blindly right to my choice, karma! Retail was $299, their sale price was $179 then knocked off another $50 for my old printer, which I gladly gave up (a popular brand/model but a troubled machine). So I walk out the door with a $129 printer, happy as a frog.

Set-up and installation was a snap, I was close to my router so ran Ethernet to a port. The user interface is very colorful and a breeze for me to navigate. I am totally impressed and happy with my purchase... I could go on for hours but I won't...

I'm dating myself, but my first printer was a dot-matrix Epson MX-80. Ink refills were easy then, pop out the cartridge, squirt black ink on the ribbon, crank it around a bit, then stick it back in, voila! You would replace the cartridge when the ribbon started to get torn and tattered. Since then the manufactures have gone south trying to force their expensive ink on the consumers using incorrigible methods.

So, that's where I'm at today, I can't afford the Epson premiere ink and would be happy using reclaimed/filled cartridges or fill them myself but with so many choices out there I am clueless what is good or bad... Can anybody please point me in the right direction for good quality reasonable priced ink solution for my Epson Artisan 827. I can't justify a CISS system for the amount of printing that I do.

Thank you