Dark prints with Argyllcms printer profile

JJ34

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Printer Model
Epson 3880
Well as said before I am not a printing newbie, even though I do not print a lot, I have been printing pictures for the past 15 years at least, the 3880 I have now is my 3rd true photo printer so far, I still have some nice photo prints hanging on my walls printed with my previous R1800.
You may have seen some of my posts in DPreview ("JJ Winkel" since 2003) one where I modified my too large 3880 IR I-refill carts to a more reasonable size, by the way they are still in excellent condition since 2 1/2 years now ...! Jtoolman may remember me :frow
Only to say that I know about double profiling, BUT an error is always possible so I will do the whole process again just in case.

To print my profiling targets I use PS and an old workaround to enable PS to print without profile as I hate UDPS which is unuseable with Pharmacists procedure to print targets on only one A4 sheet.
But as it is I do have Qimage too, never thought about using it to print those targets ... Is there any special procedure to print profileless targets ?
I do not like Qimage so much as its UI is far too complicated and not user friendly at all, but I do appreciate its printing quality, nevertheless I am quite good with PS (I am shooting raw) so I use it almost exclusively.
15111012390415897513738562.jpg

JJ34

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Printer Model
Epson 3880
When starting to make your first profile with any of these profile applications would the printer not have to be re-set to default, printer handles the colour first. ?

I am not sure I understand your question, printer profiles can be used in one of two ways, either the printer "driver" uses the profile or the application does, but not both at the same time ( = double profiling ).