Dark prints with Argyllcms printer profile

JJ34

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Printer Model
Epson 3880
Hello everybody
I am new here but not a printing newbie ... ;)
Still I am new to Argyllcms to generate new printer profiles for my Epson 3880 using a Colormunki Design spectro.
My display is calibrated with Argyllcms to 120 CD, and I know the relation between display brightness and dark prints.
As I do not really want to lower my display brightness, is there a way to modify the printer profiles to print less dark prints ?
Sorry if that has been answered before ...
Thanks
JJ.

RogerB

Print Addict
Reaction score
Printer Model
Epson Pro3880
Hello everybody
I am new here but not a printing newbie ... ;)
Still I am new to Argyllcms to generate new printer profiles for my Epson 3880 using a Colormunki Design spectro.
My display is calibrated with Argyllcms to 120 CD, and I know the relation between display brightness and dark prints.
As I do not really want to lower my display brightness, is there a way to modify the printer profiles to print less dark prints ?
Sorry if that has been answered before ...
Thanks
JJ.
If you have generated a good profile with ArgyllCMS the prints will be a good colorimetric match to the colours in the image file. In other words, the print lightness values will be a good match to the lightness values in the file. The only way that you can make them match visually is to illuminate the print in such a way that the paper white looks as bright as your display. If you do this then all the tonal values should look pretty close to those on your display.

If you dont't want to view the prints in a reasonable light then edit the image before you print it. Don't think about tampering with the profile - that's not what profiles are for. If you use Photoshop then all you need to do is to apply a curves adjustment layer and lift the centre a bit likethis:-
Ashampoo_Snap_2015.11.09_14h30m18s_002_.png