1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Picture Of The Week (POW) Information and Submissions
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  3. Official PK Poll: Is there any future in refilling?
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice
  4. PK Featured Thread: Assistance needed - Epson 1430 sudden complete clogging or air in print heads
    CLICK HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

    Dismiss Notice

Colormunki Photo repair

Discussion in 'Printing Photos and Photo Software' started by palombian, Jul 1, 2016.

  1. Jul 1, 2016
    palombian

    palombian Printer Master

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    1,053
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Location:
    Belgium
    Printer Model:
    Pro9500II, MAXIFY MB5350
    Did someone manage to take apart (and reassemble) a Colormunki Photo ?

    It becomes very erratic to select the calibrating position.

    Seems to be the position sensor.
    There is a strip with reflective targets in the outer cover that broke, and you should be able to glue them in place again.

    No warranty anymore.
     
  2. Jul 1, 2016
    W. Fisher

    W. Fisher Printing Ninja

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Printer Model:
    Epsons, Canons, Brother.
    Mine acted up when rotating the dial to calibrate. Finally it wouldn't work right with the software as well as the calibrate part. I called X-rite and they told me "To send it in and they would replace it." It was more than two years old and they sent me a whole new boxed one for free, even included a mini-ColorChecker chart and new zipper case both!

    Fwiw, there is a flex cable inside the thing that eventually breaks. It flexes pretty sharply in the large rotating part of the dial inside the thing. Digi-key (and Mouser electronics too) sells the replacement flex piece for $3.90. Here: http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/wurth-electronics-inc/687708200002/732-3578-ND/2811300 Biggest hassle is prying it all apart with those large "staples" that hold the cases together, after you unsnap all the outer covers, to get to it and plug each end of the flex into the USB and internal sockets.

    Also, I recall there was a seal under the over pop-off covers that alerts them that you've been inside the thing. Just a heads up there if you snoop and want to later try the warranty route.

    Good luck with whichever way you go.

    W.F.
     
    palombian, stratman and The Hat like this.
  3. Jul 4, 2016
    palombian

    palombian Printer Master

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    1,053
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Location:
    Belgium
    Printer Model:
    Pro9500II, MAXIFY MB5350
    Unfortunatily in Europe consumer law is different (see the VW diesel case).

    Thanks for the link to the cable, as measuring is fine I do not think I need it now, but stocking the item is not a bad idea.

    Found where the "staples" are, one covered by a seal.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 4, 2016
    The Hat likes this.
  4. Jan 4, 2019
    Feri

    Feri Printing Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Printer Model:
    Canon Pro-100
    My Colormunki shows the same symptoms as yours. I'd like to open it up, maybe I can fix it. I understand that you have to pry apart the case, but I have no clue where to start the procedure. Can you help me or point me to a guide? My searches on this were futile.
     
    The Hat likes this.
  5. Jan 4, 2019
    W. Fisher

    W. Fisher Printing Ninja

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Printer Model:
    Epsons, Canons, Brother.
    I ended up sending mine in not having the flex-circuit strip. They fixed it for free and sent me a new one along with a case and a ColorChecker mini card. Better deal.
     
    The Hat likes this.
  6. Jan 5, 2019
    Feri

    Feri Printing Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Printer Model:
    Canon Pro-100
    Unfortunately mine is way out of warranty and in Europe they will not swap it. So either I buy a new one or try to pry open the current one and fix it. If it is only about changing the flex circuit I am sure I can make it, the challenge is the method to open it.

    I checked your very useful link to the spare part and it is still working. So if I could open it I could probably fix it.
     
    The Hat likes this.
  7. Jan 5, 2019
    The Hat

    The Hat Printer VIP Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    11,655
    Likes Received:
    5,412
    Trophy Points:
    403
    Location:
    Wicklow Ireland
    Printer Model:
    Canon were, BUT 3D is better..
    Maybe @palombian will chip in here with a few more Photos and suggestions..:thumbsup
     
  8. Jan 6, 2019
    palombian

    palombian Printer Master

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    1,053
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Location:
    Belgium
    Printer Model:
    Pro9500II, MAXIFY MB5350
    I opened mine about 2 years ago (and was able to close it afterwards :D).
    You just need to remove some outer plastic covers and then remove the 4 clamps as shown on the photos.
    There is a flex strip inside.

    But I doubt it is the flex strip, since the error is intermittent (or it could be the strip starting to break).

    I found once a repair instruction mentioning a kind of timing or positioning strip with white markers falling apart.
    The guy solved it by glueing some pieces of paper.
    No evidence of this in my device.

    So I guess there were several hardware versions.

    Will try to order the flex strip ...
     
    PeterBJ and The Hat like this.
  9. Jan 7, 2019
    palombian

    palombian Printer Master

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    1,053
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Location:
    Belgium
    Printer Model:
    Pro9500II, MAXIFY MB5350
    It is a standard flex cable, found it at Conrad electronics in Europe, no need to order overseas.
    Will see if it helps ...
     
  10. Jan 9, 2019
    palombian

    palombian Printer Master

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    1,053
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Location:
    Belgium
    Printer Model:
    Pro9500II, MAXIFY MB5350
    Dear fellows,

    I changed the flatcable.
    It is only a connection between the USB socket and the electronics who are in the rotating disc.
    (Un)fortunatily everything is the same as before.
    So the reason for the malfunctioning (= not sensing the correct position of the wheel) must be elsewhere.

    May I come back to my original question:

    Can the calibration step be avoided in software ?
    Does the barebone Argyll uses the calibration step ?

    Anybody ?
     
    PeterBJ and The Hat like this.

Share This Page