Color Cast using Canon i9900 with MIS Inks

thunnus

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Hello,

I've been using MIS inks with my Canon i9900 for a couple of months now. All was well that first month but recently I've been getting a blueish color cast on everything other than plain paper. I used to be able to use plain paper settings on Epson Photo Paper to get acceptable color results but not anymore. I am attaching some scans to illustrate my dilemma. All print settings were default unless stated otherwise.

Original Photo:
IMG_7828_copy.jpg

Plain Paper Print (Paper=Plain Paper/Reso=Standard/Color=Auto)
img212_copy.jpg

Print using Canon Photo Paper Plus Glossy (Paper=Photo Paper Plus Glossy/Reso=High/Color=Auto)
img213_copy.jpg

Prints using Epson Photo Paper (Paper/Reso/Color)
img214_copy.jpg

The bottom left reads "Plain Paper/Standard/Manual: Cyan=-20 Yellow=+20)

Ink Nozzle Check on Plain Paper
i9900NozzleCheck.jpg

Any guesses as to what's going here? I'm not real picky when it comes to this stuff and want to avoid overly complicated fixes such as profiling. Since I went straight into the MIS inks, I'm not sure what the results would be using OEM Canon carts. Any help would be appreciated.

Grandad35

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon i9900 (plus 5 spares)
thunnus,

Your PC and C nozzle checks appear to be almost the same. My PC nozzle check is FAR lighter then my C nozzle check (just like your PM and M nozzle checks). I suspect that you have a cyan cart (or ink) in the PC slot. If you refill, it is easy to grab the wrong ink. Depending on how much ink is left in a cart when you refill, it can take quite a while for the new ink to work its way through the system and for the colors to change.

thunnus

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Grandad35 said:
thunnus,