Canon (US) Pro-10 and (EU) Pro-10s? Same printer?

Peter W

Getting Fingers Dirty
Joined
Oct 4, 2018
Messages
22
Reaction score
12
Points
38
Printer Model
Epson WF-7720DTWF
Hi all,

Having bought a secondhand Pro-10s here in the UK, I recommended it to a friend in the USA. But he says he can't find a Pro-10s there, only a Pro-10. I then told him the Pro-10 was the previous model and several years old,

I'm aware that the Pro-10 to Pro-10s upgrade is something to do with connectivity, In the USA, however, it seems the Pro-10 is still sold, there is no S model, so my assertion that a Pro-10 would be several years old was wrong. Is the latest US Pro-10 the same as our European Pro-10s or did they not change the connectivity options in the US models?

I'm also aware of the latest replacement Prograf Pro-300 but wouldn't buy or recommend one until I knew more about how it likes being refilled and chip reset. It took a few years for a PGI-72 resetter to become available for the Pro-10. It's not sure if the PGI-300 inks are the same as the Pro-10 inks either, though I can't see why they wouldn't be. Even if they were, and one could use Pro-10 inks from Octo or PC, there's the chip issue. I have no idea what it would do to trying to run a refilled cartridge.

Anyway, the main question was about the difference between a new US Pro-10 and a new EU Pro-10s, if anybody can help?

Thanks
Peter
 

Artur5

Print Addict
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
466
Reaction score
490
Points
198
Printer Model
Canon Maxify 5150,Canon Pro10s
Replacing the Pro-100 and Pro-10 models with the Pro-200/Pro-300 is Canon's way to increase profits.
One:
For the time being (and maybe forever) the new models are locked to third party products, unless the user disables ink monitoring. Not a wise idea IMHO and I'm sure that only a very small percentage of buyers will do that.

Two:
Check the specs of Pro200/300. Compared to the old models, they're a tad smaller and considerably lighter in weight (14,4 kg vs 20 kg). That means simplified internal design and /or metal parts replaced by plastic ..etc -> Cheaper to manufacture.

I'm not bashing Canon. From their business point of view, updating the Pro10/Pro100 with the new ones makes all the sense and I'm surprised that they didn't do it before.

I wouldn't know the differences (if any ) between Pro10 and Pro-10s. They seem to be practically the same model.
 

palombian

Printer Master
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
1,369
Reaction score
1,567
Points
257
Location
Belgium
Printer Model
PRO-10, Pro9500II, MAXIFY
Congrats with your purchase.

The PRO-10S is a PRO-10 with enhanced networking (cloud, smartphone ...).

I was lucky to find a barely used second hand PRO-10 a year ago.
It has LAN and Wifi connect and USB2, enough for me. These standards are international, I don't think there are European and North-American versions (except the power plug).

The PRO-300 uses the same inks as the PRO-1000 (2000,4000,6000) minus Blue and one of the Greys plus a deeper MBK (@jtoolman refills his PRO-10 with ink from large capacity PRO-2000/4000/6000 cartridges, the printhead drinks all).

If ever my PRO-10 breaks and I couldn't locate a spare, I would use my remaining PRO-10 3th party inks in the PRO-300 with custom profiles (something I already do now).

The PRO-10 has the same sturdy built as the PRO-9500(II), I had 4 of them and discarded already 2 since I do not have printheads anymore, not because of failures.
José Rodriguez aka @jtoolman complained his PRO-9500II failed on the power supply, no wonder since he left the power on for more than 10 years to save on cleaning cycles ;) . I power off my printers.
Most probably the PRO-10 printhead is also used in the PRO-300, this could be no reason for obsolescence (according to Precision Colors owner Mike Lee aka @mikling he only knows of one customer who had to change the printhead of his PRO-10, it is better designed than the 9500 one).
It has been reported too that the waste ink container can be reset with the right service tool (ST5204).
With an external printer potty the PRO-10(S) printer should have a virtually unlimited life (as we thought the PRO-9500 had :().
 
Last edited:

stratman

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
7,194
Reaction score
5,334
Points
373
Location
USA
Printer Model
Canon MB5120, Pencil
difference between a new US Pro-10 and a new EU Pro-10s
One thing I noticed was while both models handle 13"x19" (A3+) paper, the Pro-10s can also use 36x43cm (14x17") and 25x30cm (10x12") per the Specification pages. Maybe the Pro-10 can do the same. :idunno
 
Last edited:

palombian

Printer Master
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
1,369
Reaction score
1,567
Points
257
Location
Belgium
Printer Model
PRO-10, Pro9500II, MAXIFY
Maximum paper size for PRO-9500 and PRO-10 is 35.6 x 58.4 cm.
 

palombian

Printer Master
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
1,369
Reaction score
1,567
Points
257
Location
Belgium
Printer Model
PRO-10, Pro9500II, MAXIFY
I don't see that on the web site Specifications for the USA Pro-10.


Maximum Paper Size 13 x 19


https://www.usa.canon.com/internet/...-printers/professional-inkjet-printers/pro-10
13x19 inch refers to a commercially available maximum size.
In Europe this is called A3+ (32.9 x 48.3 cm).
At 2.54 cm/inch both papers are virtually the same size (and A3+ is not a standard format, see below)

But you can manually set the 35.6 x 58.4 cm maximum size (believe me, I did it).
You have to cut the paper from A2 (only 6.4 cm narrower and 1 cm shorter) or from a roll.

PS: In (continental) Europe we had 2 centuries ago a guy called Napoleon who abolished local standards and created the metric system ;).
A0 size paper is 1m2 (84,1 x 118,9 cm)
you cut it in 2 for A1
in 4 for A2
in 8 for A3
in 16 for A4 etc
very handy ...
 

The Hat

Printer VIP
Moderator
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
12,780
Reaction score
6,449
Points
433
Location
Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, CR-10S, KP3
With an external printer potty the PRO-10(S) printer should have a virtually unlimited life (as we thought the PRO-9500 had :().
I have a Pro 9500 for more than ten years and only lost one head in that time, I had two spare heads but gave one away so now both my remaining 9500’s are down to the last remaining head, it’s a case of which one will get it first…
P.S. Hurray for Napoleon..
 

stratman

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
7,194
Reaction score
5,334
Points
373
Location
USA
Printer Model
Canon MB5120, Pencil
"Like" given but not because of the Metric System. :tongue

If I wanted easy I'd use a Mac instead of a PC. 🙃
 
Last edited:

palombian

Printer Master
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
1,369
Reaction score
1,567
Points
257
Location
Belgium
Printer Model
PRO-10, Pro9500II, MAXIFY
I have a Pro 9500 for more than ten years and only lost one head in that time, I had two spare heads but gave one away so now both my remaining 9500’s are down to the last remaining head, it’s a case of which one will get it first…
P.S. Hurray for Napoleon..
Since I bought my 9500's used (or got them for free) I never started with a new head (except the one I mounted a year ago), this influences my statistics (and my suspicion about printheads :eek:).
In reality I printed 6 years with 2 that were not new when acquired. Can't complain.
 
Top