Canon PRO-10 firmware update

harold davies

Newbie to Printing
Joined
Jan 1, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Points
9
Printer Model
Canon PRO 10
Has anyone seen any changes when updating with this latest firmware? The Canon site only lists "improved print quality".
 

Artur5

Print Addict
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
400
Reaction score
385
Points
198
Printer Model
Canon Maxify 5150,Canon Pro10s
Probably nobody among the regular posters here has updated the firmware. Speaking for myself, if it works, don't fix it. There's a chance also that Canon has decided to change the communication protocol between printer and chips, to detect if they have been resetted and blocking the printer if so. That's a wild guess of course but, just in case... :rolleyes:
 

The Hat

Printer VIP
Moderator
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
12,514
Reaction score
6,143
Points
433
Location
Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, Ender-2, KP3
that Canon has decided to change the communication protocol between printer and chips, to detect if they have been resetted and blocking the printer if so. That's a wild guess of course
It’s probably much closer to the truth than we think.. New Canon printers are due very soon..
 

palombian

Printer Master
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
1,263
Reaction score
1,412
Points
257
Location
Belgium
Printer Model
PRO-10, Pro9500II, MAXIFY 5350
It’s probably much closer to the truth than we think.. New Canon printers are due very soon..
It has to be seen if Canon would be so nasty to prohibit us to stock PRO-10's to refill in aeternum.
 

The Hat

Printer VIP
Moderator
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
12,514
Reaction score
6,143
Points
433
Location
Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon/3D, CR-10, Ender-2, KP3
It has to be seen if Canon would be so nasty to prohibit us to stock PRO-10's to refill in aeternum.
No need to worry @palombian… There’re probability just practicing.. In aeternum .. :lol:
 

Artur5

Print Addict
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
400
Reaction score
385
Points
198
Printer Model
Canon Maxify 5150,Canon Pro10s
In aeternum is very optimistic. I'd settle for 'as long as the printhead or myself keeps going' (whatever comes first. :rolleyes: )
 

palombian

Printer Master
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
1,263
Reaction score
1,412
Points
257
Location
Belgium
Printer Model
PRO-10, Pro9500II, MAXIFY 5350
José Rodiguez never heard of a Canon firmware update that blocks refilling, and he probably would have known since about the PRO-10.
This can be important for stocking a spare PRO-10.
I managed to print years this way with the PRO-9500(II) - and still do - although PRO-10's are much more difficult to find.
 

Artur5

Print Addict
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
400
Reaction score
385
Points
198
Printer Model
Canon Maxify 5150,Canon Pro10s
Difficult to find ?. No at all, plenty of them at Amazon, Canon shop and many other places..

Or do you mean used units in good condition at a bargain price ?..:D
 
Top