Canon Pixma MG5350 problem will confound you all I bet!

Blastcleaner

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Printer Model
Cannon pixma MG5350
Weird or what? Pixma MG5350 has worked fine for about 4 years, I dont print masses but it gets fair use, document and letters mainly. I have been using non OEM refills for most of that time with no problems. I recently had my techi upgraded my PC operating system from Win XP service pack 3 - to Win 7, 64 bit. The printer worked fine for a while, then it would print black text as blank pages only ie nothing at all.

I ran all the cleaning regimes etc. but it will only print part of a test page in magenta and cyan. If you try and print a page with any colour, only the same magenta and cyan are present. I removed the print head and deep cleaned it thoroughly ( I clean things for a living so competent to do this) and on testing with ink drops while out of the machine the ink is visible passing through the screens that reduce surface tension: so the ink is available. It still only prints part of the test page, as above. My conclusion was that the print head is faulty.

But here is the strange thing.... I borrowed a printer Epson stylus SX425W which worked fine for a while, then suddenly it too will only print a tiny part of a test page in the same 2 colours.

It cannot be a coincidence that 2 different makes of printer develop the same 2 colour printing problem at the same time so the question is...... what is the problem? Surely it is a software issue? Any help much appreciated because it beats me, and like I said above, I bet it will confound the best of you.

stratman

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Canon MB5120, Pencil
Welcome to the forum, Blastcleaner.

It cannot be a coincidence that 2 different makes of printer develop the same 2 colour printing problem at the same time