Canon PGI 520 problem.

Donkeyoatay

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
I have a 6 month old Canon MP550, little used. A month ago I refilled the carts using the German method with Octoinkjet Canon black ink. Everything printed OK after the refill. I do a weekly Nozel Check Pattern which always is OK.

This morning when I tried to print a document from my Mac the black ink was missing. A further Nozel Check Pattern indicated that everything was fine. I have tried to make a copy from the printer but it will only print black if I select Color. I have removed the Black PGI 520 cart which still has plenty of ink in it and by gently blowing in the top vent, ink flows from the outlet. Current ink levels show full.

Can anyone please give a complete novice some advice on what my be causing the problem. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Michael.

panos

Print Addict
Reaction score
Are you certain the nozzle check is OK ?

Does it look like that ? (scroll down a bit)

Donkeyoatay

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Thanks Panos for replying. I have checked again and you are right. The top section of the check which says PGBK and has the grid alongside is missing. Only the color result is there. How I missed that I don't know. What does that mean?

Michael.

panos

Print Addict
Reaction score
Your printhead's nozzles for the pigmented black (mainly used for text) are clogged.

If you have ran a cleaning and a deep cleaning cycle and the problem persists, try this method.

Donkeyoatay

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
I have just run a cleaning and deep cleaning cycle and the problem exists so I will try your method. First I have to try and find some Ammonia based glass cleaner. Here is Spain that might be difficult. Somewhere in the printers manual I read that with this problem do a deep cleaning cycle, and do another 24hrs later if the problem is still exists. What do you think?.

panos

Print Addict
Reaction score