Canon MP780 Scanner light stays on always

dwhollrah

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
I picked up a very clean low mile non-op. MP780 off Ebay that throws a "check printer" message on start up and the scanner light is always on. Any ideas? I'll kinda take it in the teeth on this one if I can't get it going, but thats the chance you take. I will say this printer is LOTS easier to get into than my mp720. I did find a service manual at Rapid share for this printer so if you need the link let me know...give me a shout if you've got any ideas....later
Dave

ghwellsjr

Printer Master
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
Printer Model
Epson WP-4530
I have lots of experience with MP780's and the couple that have had scanner problems were not fixed by swapping the scanner units. Almost always when something like that fails, the problem is in the main circuit board and cannot be fixed except by spending $250 on a new board. If the seller did not disclose the problem and/or is unwilling to refund money, you might be able to make a claim with eBay. They refunded me the full price of a defective MP780 that I purchased on eBay.

I no longer buy printers on eBay unless I can pick them up locally with the promise that the seller will make a refund or cancel the order if it is not as described. Instead, I have been buying printers on Craigslist which is much better because there is no commitment to buy until you can verify the condition of the printer.

dwhollrah

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
Thanks for the info...I really have no recourse, I knew that it wasn't working so have $55 bucks in a dead printer. Question for you ghwellsjr if you happen to check back...will any mp780 mainboard fit, I may just wait for one to show up. The printer is VERY clean. or better question, is this printer even worth the effort knowing that you have lots of experience w/ this particular model.