Canon iP9900 won't Print C-M-Y

Trigger 37

Printer Guru
Reaction score
I'm posting this story so that it may help others with similar problems that this person had with his printer. He is not a registered poster and initially contacted me via email address. To be accurate in this note I have used his emails where it can help explain the problem. I will also use the photos that he took and sent to me as an aid in diagnosing his problem and coming up with the solution. His name is Peter and I will use this to seperate the back and forth communications we had to get this printer fixed.

Peter---09-12-08
Hi Trigger

Let me bore you with my saga.

I have an i9950 which is the problem. (Also have a pixma i6000D).

I have been using generic inks for 18 months and the head ( for whatever reason) has blocked up. I took it apart, cleaned it but it was not completely successful. Next was a purchase of a new head from Precision Roller in the US. (I am in Australia). The new print head refused to print M, C and Y. They sent me a replacement, this had the same problem. I took the printer to a service place where they pronounced sanctimoniously that I was using non-genuine inks, so the head was not guaranteed; and by the way they wanted to change the purge unit and adjust something with the rollers - $550. I said no thanks and brought the printer home. Turned it on and got 8 consecutive amber flashes between greens. I have reset the EEPROM and the flashes have disappeared. (Since I wrote to you yesterday). I am not a forum participant, just read, so I saw your comment to the person before me and posted a message. Then I worked it out that I can email you directly.

Do you have any suggestions? A manual would be useful but more so for the i6000D.

Cheers, Peter

Trigger--09-12-08
Peter,