Back to push button codes for absorber reset?

PeterBJ

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
4,089
Reaction score
3,430
Points
343
Location
Copenhagen Denmark
Printer Model
Canon iP4300 + Epson scanner
When looking for an answer to Error 6000 for Canon printers I stumbled upon this reset procedure for a Canon G model bottled ink printer on Youtube:


It looks like the old push button way of doing service mode operations is back, I wonder if the video is true. Some comments on Youtube suggest the video might be fake, or at least the procedure does not work for all G models.

But experimenting with service mode might block and ruin your printer. so be careful if you want to try this procedure.
 
Last edited:

The Hat

Printer VIP
Moderator
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
11,864
Reaction score
5,581
Points
403
Location
Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon were, BUT 3D are better.
@Peter, that is very interesting because most if not all procedures for entering Service mode will include using a Service Tool, and if this works then it may be used on many other printers too, and as you say it may lock your printer up...

So, ask yourself, is it worth the risk, well if your waste ink is getting critical you’ve nothing to lose...;)
 

PeterBJ

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
4,089
Reaction score
3,430
Points
343
Location
Copenhagen Denmark
Printer Model
Canon iP4300 + Epson scanner
If the printer is close to being locked due to the absorber getting full you don't have much to lose. But wouldn't it be a pity to find out that another procedure might have resat the printer?

I have done some searching on the web and I think the video is fake. The procedure might lock the printer. A bad thing if you just wanted to check the printers usage history by printing the EEPROM info.

I don't know what the purpose is of this? Maybe to trick people to ruin their printers, similar to the evil prank that lured some iPhone owners to drill a 3.5 mm hole in the telephone to get access to a hidden standard earphone/headset jack. It seems that some owners actually drilled the phones and ruined them.

Here is a website that shows the traditional entering of service mode and the use of a service tool. I think this is much more likely to be true. It seems service tools versions 3900, 4720 and 4905 can be used for resetting the G models.

It looks like these newer service tools are not available for free downloads but are offered at Ebay at prices starting at 10$. It looks like the newest service tool v5103 can also reset Maxify and the new Pixma TS printers. It is £8. I am tempted to buy it for testing, even if I think it looks a bit suspect that you might have to disable your antivirus to use the tool. The seller also explains that if the service mode has been locked the only way unlock the printer is to reflash the EEPROM.
 

The Hat

Printer VIP
Moderator
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
11,864
Reaction score
5,581
Points
403
Location
Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon were, BUT 3D are better.
My Maxify can’t enter Service Mode so none of these Service Tools would work on it anyway and therefore would be a waste of time and money, besides the waste ink cartridge on the Maxify is pretty big so it will take a long time to fill...

When I first purchase the Maxify, even before I turn it on, I stripped it down to divert the waste tubes to a Printer Potty, but decide it wasn’t worth the effort because access to service mode was not permitted...
 

PeterBJ

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2010
Messages
4,089
Reaction score
3,430
Points
343
Location
Copenhagen Denmark
Printer Model
Canon iP4300 + Epson scanner
I don't know if it is true, but here is a video that claims to show a Maxify entering service mode by the usual "Press the stop button five times procedure". To me the behaviour of the power and error LEDs looks normal for entering service mode.
 

The Hat

Printer VIP
Moderator
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
11,864
Reaction score
5,581
Points
403
Location
Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon were, BUT 3D are better.
@PeterBJ, yes that does do something to the printer, but whether it’s in Service Mode or somewhere else I don’t rightly know, none of my Service tools respond and give an Error 005 code, the printer won’t respond to any manual button presses either.:hu

Maybe I need a newer Tool, because I used V3400 and V3600 for my test...
 

stratman

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
6,407
Reaction score
4,517
Points
373
Location
USA
Printer Model
Canon MB5120, Pencil
Maybe I need a newer Tool, because I used V3400 and V3600 for my test...
PeterBJ did say you need service tools versions 3900, 4720, 4905 or 5103 for resetting the G models.
 

The Hat

Printer VIP
Moderator
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
11,864
Reaction score
5,581
Points
403
Location
Wicklow Ireland
Printer Model
Canon were, BUT 3D are better.
The use of a service tool that is too old may lock access to service mode
I am not worry about it, because I tried to enter service mode when I first got the printer and it was impossible back then, so there has been no change...
you need service tools versions 3900, 4720, 4905 or 5103 for resetting the G models.
My printer is a Maxify and not one of these G models mentioned, so that does not apply...
 

stratman

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
6,407
Reaction score
4,517
Points
373
Location
USA
Printer Model
Canon MB5120, Pencil
My printer is a Maxify and not one of these G models mentioned, so that does not apply...
Why don't you have a G model printer? You're slipping, bub. :D
 
Top