Advice for pixma MP990

kerman

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Hi everyone, im new to this blog, looking to quickly get a bit out from this noobily state :D

Ive just purchased a mp990 and and Im now runned out of ink. Im looking for the wise choice over OEM cartridges. Ive read a lot about the well known german method, but the method that most called my attencion are the CIS.

My doubts is what are your advise between these choices for this model MP990, since Ive seen somewhere theres no much recomended the CIS for Canon. Ive only seen this system for purchase for this model here canon-mp990-cis, and looks fine, but im totally noobie to this, so im not sure.

I need ink now but dont want to be rushed in my choice; Im mainly interested (but that yes, out of the OEM costs :rolleyes:) on quality over price, and the most gentle method for the printer longlife.

Please dont be shy to share your thoughts, it will be very much appreciate. Thanks in advance.

SpideRMaN

Fan of Printing
Reaction score
It depends on how much you use the printer.

MP 980/990 wastes a LOT of ink in print head cleanings and to add things up the cartridges are very small cli-8ml/pgi-19ml.
Canon heads and ciss don't go much too good together but if you print a lot then a ciss is a way to go.

I own an mp980 which is almost identical to the mp990. I don't print a lot but for me it's impossible to buy OEM cos of the ridiculous prices (80Euro/set) so atm I am refilling, I replaced original chips with ARChips and when I print I print mainly photo's and CD/DVD's but am fed up cos I have to refill very frequently every 3-4 days even so as I said I don't print a lot, so I ordered a ciss

you have to decide to refill or go ciss.