Advice: Epson R300 and Upgrading

zlisik

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
This is my first time posting but I have been reading this forum for a little while. It's been very informative, thanks.

I'm an amateur photographer and would like to start experimenting printing at home.

I've had an epson R300 laying around with a paper feed problem for a while. Just recently I've cleaned it of dust and hand fed it some paper and cleaned the rollers with alcohol. It's now feeding paper correctly 99.5% of the time.
Some black text was not printing out quite right but I suspect the printer just needs its heads cleaned. I hadn't used it in about a year. Unfortunetly I'm now out of ink.

I've done some research and thought that the refill kit from MIS (empty easy refill carts, ink, etc) would be suitable for me. its listed for 105$

I've never really used this printer for pictures, it was more of a 'in case I ever have the desire to' type purchases, and of course it was practically given away. So I'm not entirely sure I'll be pleased with the photo printing of this printer.

I'm also concerned about the printing problems that I think a head cleaning will solve. What if its not solved by a head cleaning? I'm not sure how to describe the quality of the printed text but realigning the heads helped.

I'm also thinking that I may not be happy with dye based ink. I'd like to print and frame some pictures. Will I be disapointed with photos fading after a year or two? I've read it can be bad if the photos are displayed in a sunny location.

I suspect the best course of action would be to buy some cheaper ink carts, experiment with photo printing at home and send away photos I want to frame to a lab. And if my photography takes off and I become more involved with printing at home I'll upgrade to a pigment ink, large format printer.

Any guidance would be appreciated.

mikling

Printer VIP
Platinum Printer Member
Reaction score
zilsik