Workforce 610 And All Similar Ink Models - Original Cartridges Not Recognized After Head Cleaning

caskade

Print Lurker
Reaction score
Printer Model
epson workforce 610
Just joined the forum in hope of getting some hints and tips towards a possible solution for my problem.

I have been using my Workforce 610 for over 2 years for some home printing without major problems all on original epson ink. Recently it started displaying symptoms of a clogged head so i decided to take the carriage apart and clean the head. It went smoothly and i was able to get a lot of dried ink from the printing nozzle. Dried everything out then put it back together and everything was looking good. I turn on the printer and it goes thru initialization process and finally reports no cartridges installed. I start the cartridge installation wizard..load the same old cartridges that were in the printer before the cleaning and then it starts reporting "cannot recognize cartridges" and lists all of them. I went thru a horrible ordeal of starting the wizard ..replacing/wiggling cartridges..changing order and so on and nothing seems to make the printer successfully prime the ink. I was reading about the issue of "cannot recognize cartridges" on different forums and blogs but nothing was able to help in my case...checked all connections..ribbons..cleaned contacts with alcohol etc..

Here is a couple of things i was able to notice:

1. When loading all of the cartridges at once it always says that they cannot be recognized both in the PC maintenance app and on the printers LCD.
2. When loading one by one i can get it to a point where printer accepts every cartridge but still shows cannot recognize message when the final cartridge is inserted.