Why Canon over Epson for high quality printing

cheapbeer

Newbie to Printing
Reaction score
I'm pretty new to the world of non-oem cartridge printing.

For about one year I have owned an Epson Workforce 30 with a CISS that was pre-installed for me. I am getting more and more interested in doing higher quality printing than the office applications I have used my printer for and so I've started doing research on what's out there.

I have learned a lot from this forum but there is one thing I don't quite understand. It seems that many of you guys are really interested in Canon printers. I was just wondering why that is. Before discovering CISS I swore by HP but my research a year ago showed Epson was the way to go with CISS because of the way the print head seals (or something like that as I recall.) Now that I've mastered CISS, my next goal is to discover higher quality printing. Are Canons better at producing quality prints, are they cheaper, or are there other things that make Canon so popular around here?

Thanks!

errante

Getting Fingers Dirty
Reaction score
Canon cartridges were refill-friendly and trouble-free. Now things are changing with chips and opaque cartridges...

In my opinion, canon has developed printers (for home use) with a very good price/quality ratio. These are the reasons for me :p

qwertydude

Printing Ninja
Reaction score
The subject of quality bewteen Canon and Epson is debatable in my opinion. In terms of DPI Canon wins with the FINE printhead technology capable of 1 picoliter drops and a resolution of 2400 dpi, I never count the high side 9600 because that's only in one direction, Epson is close with down to 1.5 picoliter with the newer generation print heads but only 1440 dpi.